Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing Studies & Composition: Articles

This guide is designed to give you some tips on how to find information for your WSC assignments. You are often expected to find information in a variety of disciplines. This guide shows you some of the databases that may be useful to you.

Basic Library Information

Check the easy-to-use interactive  Library Basics Tutorial to find out what we have, where to find it, how to access it, and what services we offer you.

NEED HELP?

  • Use the popup chat widget on the Library's Homepage
  • Type us a question
  • Visit the Reference Desk or call at  516 463-5962
  • Use the buttons below to immediately type us a question or chat with a librarian

Finding Articles

To do a general search for articles, type keywords into the search bar underneath the Articles tab on the top left-hand side of the library's homepage. Hofstra also has a wide variety of research databases, both multidisciplinary and focused more specifically on particular subjects. Find an alphabetical list of these databases by clicking on the link that says Browse our full list of online databases underneath the Articles tab.

The following are some of the databases that have proven particularly useful for WSC classes.

Magazines and Journals

Covers a wide variety of topics, and includes articles in magazines, academic journals and newspapers. Many of the Articles are full text.

Like Academic Lear Complete,there are articles on a wide range of topics. It includes academic journals and newspapers (including full text access to the New York Times, dating back to 1995. Includes many full text articles.

Find information here on topics related to the fields of communication and mass media. Includes articles in magazines and  academic journals. Much of it is full text.

Provides indexing and some full text for articles and books in a wide range of social science disciplines: anthropology, education, sociology, economics, political science, and psychology.

Newspapers

Find the full text of various newspapers including the New York Times and the Washington Post. If you are looking for   these specific publications, you will have to limit your search by publication (use the search box at the top of the screen).

Contains the full text of U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as some major international newspapers.

Includes articles rom over 30 New York Sate newspapers.

Provides full text access to over 1,100 local, regional, national and some international newspapers.It also includes thousands of images as well as some radio and television broadcasts and transcripts.

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

Contact Information

Ann Grafstein, M.L.S, Ph.D.
Professor of Library Services
902H Axinn Library
516-463-5052

ann.grafstein@hofstra.edu

Contact me by phone or email. Click on the button below to arrange an appointment during a scheduled time slot.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University