Skip to main content

Open Textbooks: Full Guide

Major Sources for Open Access Books and Other OERs

OASIS is maintained by SUNY. You can use advanced search to find textbooks.

JURN Returns a good number of Academic.edu results, which you have to be member of to access.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)  Maintained by George Mason University, can be searched for more than books.

Directory of Open Access Books

Open Research Library  Beta version now available. Final version available October 2019 with the goal of providing access to 20,000 open access books. Must create a free account.

Google Advanced Search allows searching by Usage Rights. To find open access materials use filters, "free to use or share," "free to use or share even commercially," "free to use, share, or modify,"  and "free to use, share, or modify, even commercially."

Finding Other OER Resources

Sometimes full textbooks can be found in these resources. But also lesson plans or elements which one can use in putting together a course. In some cases content here is picked up by the major search engines above.

MERLOT II

OpenStax/OER Commons

OpenOregon Over 600 open access classroom resources in many disciplines, from syllabi, to free readings, to textbooks.

Open Education Consortium

MIT Open Courseware

UCI Open Open course materials from UC Irvine.

Saylor Academy Course Catalog

Finding OERs on Google

H20 Classroom Tools  This is a repository which allows sharing and modification (in some cases) of course materials. Those which are linked to Harvard University's licensed databases may need to modified here for use (i.e. linked to our databases). Consult a librarian for assistance. This was created by Harvard University and was originally intended for Law but now encourages use by faculty in other disciplines. It is a product of Harvard Library Lab

SkillsCommons  Materials (including syllabi) for courses in industry (e.g. mining, agriculture, construction) but also items on finance and insurance, educational services, health and social assistance, hospitals, entertainment, recreation, public administration, etc.

 

 

Free Textbook Sites

Some of these may be incorporated in the major sources for open access books.

Open Texbook Library Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

LibreTexts Coming out of the University of California system, initially U Davis, with a Congressional support and working with Merlot. A good aggregator of textbooks on a variety of subjects.

OpenStax CNX Presently funded by Rice University and other philanthropies. The collection is open source and available for remixing and editing. Textbooks, and textbook like materials, are available as well as other materials.

BC Campus OpenEd: Find Open Texbooks.This is a repository of open textbooks, arranged by subject. There is also a description of each textbook which may be helpful. The links to BC may not always work, but one can usually link to the original product as well. Here is the main link to BC Campus OpenEd.  They also have a Self-Publishing Guide.

Cool 4 ED: California Open Online Library for Education Produced by the California State University Merlot Program. Contains both text books and course materials.

Saylor Academy Open Textbooks. Describes itself as a "non-profit initiative working since 2008" to make education open to all.

Boundless Works with Lumen. Good number of textbooks in specific disciplines. Worth exploring.

Open Logic Project Excellent and probably comprehensive list of open access textbooks in logic.

Open SUNY Textbooks A open textbook initiative of the State University of New York.

The Orange Grove: Florida's Digital Repository Using the Browse Open Collections link you can access downloadable open-access textbooks in a variety of disciplines. Part of the collection has been reviewed by the University of Florida Press. It also contains teaching materials from a variety of sources.

Galileo Open Textbooks and other materials from the University System of Georgia.

Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education Resources Known as ISKE, a non-profit organization which develops and disseminates a range of open access materials for education at all levels. It also advocates for and holds seminars and training sessions on the use of open access resources.

OER Commons  A free repository of over 50,000 educational resources for all levels. Textbooks can be located here, mostly drawn from other sources, including the ones on this list. However, it has highly functional search engine and may be useful.

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources Opens on disciplinary open-textbook page. Not all materials are truly free here, but worth exploring.

American University Open Textbook Repository Mixed collection, but does contain science, technology, and business textbooks as well as others. Some of the links and collections are listed here separately.

 

Open Pedagogy: Tools for Faculty Adopting OER

ACC Learn OER Learning modules.

Adopting Open Educational Resources in the Classroom Lumen Learning course.

Affordable Learning Georgia Modules on adopting open access resources.

Intro to Open Education. David Wiley's course.

OER Attribution Builder May help faculty to attribute OERs and Open Textbooks appropriately.

Open Educational Practice and Professional Learning Resources and tools maintained by OER Commons.
Open Pedagogy Notebook Source of assignments and resources for the use of open access materials in classroom. Emphasis on student creation of  open access materials.

Librarian

David Woolwine's picture
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Creating Your Own

BC Campus Self-Publishing Guide

REBUS Community Non-profit organization which helps scholars create open access textbooks.

Suggestions for Library Faculty Working with Teaching Faculty

Textbooks must be produced under Creative Commons and/or conform to David Wiley’s definition of open access.

Librarians and teaching faculty should work with Student Access Services  to ensure accessibility of open educational resources to all students. The following link may also be useful.  BC Open Textbook Accessibility Toolkit

Archived Webinar 

Certificate Resources Maintained by Creative Commons.

OER Librarian Toolkit ACRL libguide.Open Oregon Educational Resources webinar on finding and showcasing open residents by subject.

OER Toolkit Prepared by Ontario College Libraries.

Open Education Librarian Tool Box Virginia Tech libguide.

OTN Certificate In OER Librarianship Open Textbook Network.

 



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University