Skip to Main Content

MLA Citation Guide: 8th Edition

This guide will help you understand how to use the MLA citation format for both in-text citations and works cited lists. It includes some more commonly used source formats. For complete information, please consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research

Professor of Library Services

Profile Photo
Ann Grafstein
Contact:
Axinn Library
Room 902H
516-463-5052
Website

Citing Electronic Books

CONTENTS OF THIS BOX

Books from an Online Subscription Database

Books Read on an E-Reader

Note: Cite electronic books the same way that you cite print books, except that you must include the electronic "container," (i.e., the database, or the source where your e-book is located. This could be, for example, HathiTrust or Project Gutenberg).

Book from an Online Subscription Database or Free Online Book Collection

Basic Format

Author(s)  (last name, first name). Title (italicized). Publisher, Date. Title of the Database, URL.(add URL only if the

link is stable--sometimes called "persistent link" or "permalink"

What do citations look like?

Vanhoutte, Edward, Julianne Nyhan. and Melissa M. Terras. Defining Digital Humanities: A Reader. Routledge,

2013. ebook Collection EBSCOhost, http://library.hofstra.edu/record=b2569190~S1.

Katz, Friedrich. The Life and Times of Pancho Villa. Stanford UP, 1998. ACLS Humanities E-book,

hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.00059.0001.001.

Rasnom, John Crowe. Poems About God. Henry Holt, 1919. HathiTrust Digital Library, hdl.handle.net

/2027/nc01.ark:/13960/t9d51qz1t.

Book Read on an E-Reader

Basic Format

Author(s)  (last name, first name). Title (italicized). Name of E-Reader, Publisher, Date.

What does a citation look like?

Whitehead, Colson. The Underground Railroad. Kindle ed., Doubleday, 2016.

Other Digital Resources

In citing other digital resources (blogs, YouTube videos, tweets, etc.), use the same principles that you do in citing any other digital resource. Remember that your goal is to help the reader locate the source, giving all available information: author, title of the post in quotation marks, title of the site within which it is contained in italics, publisher, URL, and date of access.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University