Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Systems and Business Analytics : Journal Articles

How to Think Like a Database

HUL's OneSearch

Searching: OneSearch
Includes most HUL resources

How to find Scholarly Journal Articles

Welcome to multi-disciplinary Database searching.  You will find from time to time that the research  you are trying to conduct crosses over into other academic disciplines.  For example the topic of Ethic and Big Data crosses into Law, Public Policy and Philosophy.  Traditionally a researcher to get teh full picture of such a topic would have to search multiple different databases.  A full list of our subject specific databases can be found here Databases A-Z.  Recently the library added a databases that search most of our resources at the same time, OneSearch.  The best way to use this database is to learn how to think like a database (see the handout on the left and the video demo below).

Please view the videos below to see how to power use our databases.

OneSearch will search most of our databases and the book catalog.  This will yield a great number of results, scholarly and popular, useful and not useful, unless you search very specifically.  The video demo and the Power Point presentation will show you how to do just that.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University