Skip to Main Content

Open-Access Resources: African Studies

Introduction

This page contains a selected list of resources for open-access materials in Africana Studies.

Articles

African Journals Online Peer-reviewed open-access articles on Africa.

Sabinet Open Access  South African open-access journals.

Archive of African Journals Scholarly journals digitized by the African eJournals Project. There is a search function on the page.

For others in this discipline search in the Directory of Open Access Journals using the Browse function to get a list of disciplines. All journals in the DOAJ can be searched by individual title using Hofstra University's Journal Finder.

AfricArXiv Archive of preprints of scientists from Africa. Outputs in all scientific fields.

Global Open Access Portal This is the Access by Region page of this United Nations supported program. By clicking on a specific nation in Africa one can see major open access resources in that nation.

Mixed Resources

Leiden University Depository: African Studies Centre Contains books, theses, reports, etc. in African Studies.

Africa Portal Largely policy-related and contains a vareity of resources, including policy papers. Mantained by the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), Makerere University and the South Africa Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA).

AllAfrica.com Most of the information on this site is from newspapers, new agencies and publications from all over the African continent. The site aggregates and distributes the reporting of more than 130 media organizations. An attempt is made to represent as many viewpoints as possible.

 Slave Voyages Sponsored by Emory University, the database contains information culled from primary sources on the African slave trade. One can use it to extract data and information about specific voyages and to create statistical reports. It also contains a repository of images and essays on the topic. Please read the Legal page before citing, using and distributing.

Digital Archeological Archive of Comparative Slavery A collection of archeological sites in the eastern United States.Useful for classroom teaching and for student projects.

Gay and Lesbian Memory in Action (GALA)  South Africa resource.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University