Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film: Reference Tools

Electronic Reference Databases

You must log into the my.hofstra.edu portal and access the Library home page in order to use these databases.

Biography Reference Bank - Includes biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries.  Mostly full text. Includes graphics.

Credo Reference - Multidisciplinary. Includes: Chambers Film Factfinder and An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Film.
Full text entries from over 500 reference sources. (Use this database to access current volume of Who's Who in America.)

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Searchable by keyword and subject.  Includes: Contemporary Musicians, Contemporary Theatre, Film and TelevisionSchirmer Encyclopedia of Film. Full text. Includes graphics.

Oxford English Dictionary - Literary. Full text of the Oxford English Dictionary.

 

LEXICAT - Online catalog of Hofstra University Libraries holdings.  Includes electronic reference books.  Restrict your search to the Reference collection on each search screen.

Reference Resources

INTRODUCTION

The following is a selected listing of reference resources in the field of Film. Resources such as literature guides, handbooks, encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries, style guides and directories are included. Use such resources at the beginning of your research process to familiarize yourself with

There is no reason to assume that you would be able to jump into your field and use its body of literature without some orientation to that process. Spend some time with reference materials. It will make your research process more efficient in the long run.

 

SELECTED REFERENCE SOURCES

Literature Guides


Film and television : a guide to the reference literature

Call #: REF. PN1994 .E27 2006

Film : an international bibliography
Call #: REF. PN1994 .H24 2002

Literature and film : an annotated bibliography, 1900-1977
Call #: REF. PN1995.3 .W45 1981

The new film index; a bibliography of magazine articles in English, 1930-1970
Call #: REF. PN1994 .M25 1975

Landmark films : the cinema and our century
Call #: REF. PN1993.5.A1 W59 [1979]

A comprehensive bibliography of music for film and television
Call #: REF. ML128.M7 W47 1985; REF. ML113 .D4 no. 54 [2 vols.]

Film composers in America; a checklist of their work
Call #: REF. ML128.M7 M3 1972

The blue book of Hollywood musicals; songs from the sound tracks and the stars who sang them since the birth of the talkies a quarter-century ago
Call #: REF. ML128.M7 B8

The Afro-American cinematic experience : an annotated bibliography & filmography
Call #: REF. PN1995.9.N4 H9 1983

Frame by frame : a Black filmography
Call #: REF. PN1995.9.N4 K57

Ingmar Bergman : a guide to references and resources
Call #: REF. PN1998.A3 B4683 1987

Blacks in American movies; a selected bibliography
Call #: REF. PN1995.9.N4 P78 1974

Women and film : a bibliography
Call #: PN1995.9.W6 K67 1976

Communication and the mass media : a guide to the reference literature
Call #: REF. P90 .B55 1991

Back to top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Handbooks/Guides

The Oxford handbook of film and media studies

Call #: REF. PN1994 .O93 2008

The documentary film makers handbook
Call #: REF. PN1995.9.P7 J61 2006

The science fiction and fantasy film handbook
Call #: REF. PN1995.9.S26 F73 1982

Dictionary of film finance and distribution : a guide for independent filmmakers
Call #: REF. PN1993.5.A1 C642 2008

The recreation and entertainment industries : an information sourcebook
Call #: REF. GV188.3.U6 C53 2000

The ultimate film festival survival guide
Call #: REF. PN1993.4 .G67

The film festival guide : for filmmakers, film buffs, and industry professionals
Call #: REF. PN1993.4 .L36

Gay Hollywood film & video guide : 75 years of gay & lesbian images in the movies
Call #: REF. PN1995.9.H55 S74

Back to top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Encyclopedias/Biographical Dictionaries

Halliwell's who's who in the movies
Call #: REF. PN1993.45 .H3a 2001

The new biographical dictionary of film
Call #: REF. PN1998.2 .T49 2002

Dictionary of film makers
Call #: REF. PN1993.45 .S313 [1972]

An encyclopedic dictionary of women in early American films, 1895-1930
Call #: REF. PN1998.2 .L686 2005

Women filmmakers & their films
Call #: REF. PN1998.2 .W66 1998

The American musical film song encyclopedia
Call #: REF. ML102.M68 H57 1999

Encyclopedia of music for pictures
Call #: REF. ML128.M7 R2 [1970]

Vaudeville, old & new : an encyclopedia of variety performers in America
Call #: REF. PN1968.U5 C85 2007

The encyclopedia of novels into film
Call #: REF. PN1997.85 .T54 1998

Anatomy of wonder : a critical guide to science fiction
Call #: REF. PN3433.8 .A52 2004

Comedy : a geographic and historical guide
Call #: REF. PN6147 .C565 2005; vols.1-2

Shakespeares after Shakespeare : an encyclopedia of the Bard in mass media and popular culture
Call #: PR2880.A1 S48 2007; vols. 1-2

The encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict : a political, social, and military history
Multiple vols.[4]; Multiple editors; Essential chapter on Film and the Arab-Israeli conflict

Call #: REF. DS119.7 .E5653 2008

Encyclopedia of Arab women filmmakers
Call #: REF. PN1998.2 .H5513 2005

Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film
Call #: REF. PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001

Encyclopedia of new media : an essential reference to communication and technology
Call #: REF. QA76.575 .E5368 2003

Encyclopedia of rhetoric and composition : communication from ancient times to the information age
Call #: REF. PN172 .E53 1996

Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics, media, and communications
Call #: REF. P87.5 .D36 2000

Back to top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Directories

Hollywood creative directory
Call #: REF. PN1998.A1 H58 [2005]

Kemps international. Film, television, commercials
Call #: REF. PN1998.A1 K38 2006

The producer's masterguide
Call #: REF. PN1993.5.U77 B46 2007/08

Back to top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Specialized Dictionaries

The American film industry : a historical dictionary
Call #: REF. PN1993.5.U6 S539 1986

A dictionary of the cinema
Call #: REF. PN1998.A2 G7 1968

Dictionary of quotations in communications
Call #: REF. P90 .D488 1997

Back to top
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Style Guides

MLA handbook for writers of research papers
Call #: REF. DESK LB2369 .G53 2009

Back to top 

Reference Reading Room

Located on the main floor of the Axinn Library, the Reference Reading Room holds all print reference materials and offers quiet study space and WIFI availability.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University