Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance Education

Guide to Finding Full Text of Articles

Looking for Full Text?

There is almost always a solution to finding the full text of an article.  Follow the steps listed below to find full text.

  • If an article is available in full text in a database there will be either an "HTML"  or 'PDF " or "Linked Full Text" icon.
  • When you find an abstract (summary of an article) in a database and there are none of the above icons, click on  "Check Journal Finder".
  • If we have the Journal in another database "Journal Finder" will take you to the list of choices of where the journal can be found. Click on either "article" for direct access to the article or "journal" or the name of the database to get to the search page of the database.
  • If we do not have the Journal click on the link for Interlibrary loan, where we can get the article for you.

 


Tips for success when using databases

Using EBSCO databases

EBSCO is a vendor of many of our databases. While we don't suggest you limit your search, especially when working on your dissertation, to just EBSCO databases there are some nice features of these databases that may help you do  your research.

  • First all databases sold by EBSCO are searchable simultaneously. So if you log onto any databases provided by them such as ERIC or Academic Search Complete you may also search other EBSCO databases such as the Professional Development Collection or PsychArticles.  To do this type of searching click on "Choose Databases"
  • To find peer-reviewed articles only there is a box you can check to limit your search. You may want to use this feature sparingly when doing your literature review for a dissertation.
  • To save any articles/citations that you may have found but aren't ready to print out you can create an EBSCO account by clicking on "My EBSCO". This account will also allow you to save your searches (thus your search strategy)

 

 

 

 

 

Databases for Education Research

Below is a list of databases appropriate for education research. Some databases are multidisciplinary.

Subject Guide

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University