SPH Clinical Methods II: Evidence-Based Practice
Open Access Databases
Discovery Search for Articles
Discovery performs a keyword search of all Hofstra University Library holdings and open access resources for print and electronic books, journals, videos, etc..
To search for just articles, click on "Articles" tab:
Enter keywords to search the library's catalog for full text electronic articles.
Research Databases
-
CINAHL Complete provides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
-
Cochrane Library A collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Also includes a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information
-
Linguistics Collection
Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
- Linguistics Database
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
-
PsycARTICLES Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
-
PsycINFO Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
-
PubMed/Medline Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
ScienceDirect Full-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.