LibGuides: SPH Clinical Methods II: Evidence-Based Practice: Find Articles

Research Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window provides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Also includes a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes: Education Database and ERIC . see "Additional Info" below.
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Education Database: Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
- ERIC: Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.Includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
- Linguistics Database
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Linguistics Database‎: full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)‎ (1973 - current): Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed/Medline This link opens in a new window Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University

SPH Clinical Methods II: Evidence-Based Practice

Open Access Databases

Discovery Search for Articles

Research Databases

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching