It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Foundations of Mental Health Counseling by Artis J. Palmo (Editor); William J. Weikel (Editor); David P. Borsos (Editor)The importance of mental health counseling has grown, including the array of mental health issues that arise in an uncertain and fragile world. It has been 25 years since the original edition of Foundations of Mental Health Counseling was published. This fourth edition expands the information in the previous editions by updating the positive changes in the field of mental health counseling including the recognition of licensed professional counselors by managed care organizations and insurance companies. There are twelve new authors that have added tremendously to the depth and breadth of the book and which offer chapters that include both practical as well as theoretical ideas and information. Presented in six sections, Section I is an overview that covers a historical perspective from which an assertive and articulate voice for the identity and advancement of mental health counseling has emerged. Section II covers the role of theory and the integration of these theories in the practice of mental health counseling, including mental health and aging, multiculturalism and diversity, career counseling, and the use of humor in counseling sessions. Section III details the expanding employment opportunities, work settings, and private practice. The issues of substance abuse and the effective counselor and intimate partner violence is addressed. Section IV presents the counselorOCOs role in recovery and trauma counseling treatment regarding terrorism. Section V explores the licensure, credentialing, and legislation related to mental health counseling, its impact, and the counselor as a political activist. Section VI addresses assessment, research, ethics, curriculum, and trends of mental health counseling. Additionally, there are two very important segments that reflect the changing times for counselors. First, the role of counselors in dealing with disasters and terrorism, and second, the place of technology within the counselorOCOs world and some of the issues that will be faced in coming to terms with technology in the twenty-first century. This book continues to be the most up-to-date resource in the field of mental health counseling and is a OC must readOCO for anyone working or aspiring to work as a mental health counselor."
Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook by Debra Mollen; Brian N. BairdThe Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook is a practical guide for interns in the helping professions, with real-world knowledge of the skills students need through every phase of their practicum, field placement, or internship. This text expertly guides students through the essential skills needed for beginning work in the field of mental health and outlines skills that will serve students throughout their academic and professional careers. Skills discussed include how to make a great first impression, understanding the process and content of clinical writing, recordkeeping, working with peers and supervisors, understanding diversity, cultivating self-care, and promoting safety. Every phase of the internship is discussed chronologically: from finding and preparing for placements to concluding relationships with clients and supervisors. Following an evidence and competency-based approach, the latest research findings are reviewed from the fields of psychology, social work, and counseling. The Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook is an invaluable resource for students, faculty, and supervisors engaged in the exciting, challenging experience of transitioning from academia into clinical training in the field. Free online resources available at www.routledge.com/9781138478701 support the text.
Call Number: Main Library - Axinn Stacks BF636.6 .B35 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-26
SAGE Guide to Careers for Counseling and Clinical Practice by Camille HelkowskiThe SAGE Guide to Careers for Counseling and Clinical Practice offers valuable insights into a range of career options in clinical work through the contributions of 15 counselors. The text opens with a discussion of the various roles and functions of counselors and includes guidance on educational, licensing, and fieldwork considerations, while subsequent chapters offer practical information on job requirements, salaries, and day-to-day activities. Aspiring counselors and clinicians will gain not only a factual knowledge about career possibilities, but also a deeper understanding of what it actually means to engage in this type of work.
Call Number: Main Library - Axinn Stacks BF636.64 .H45 2019
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
The Counseling Practicum and Internship Manual by Shannon HodgesThis best-selling guide to the practicum and internship experience, written expressly for graduate counseling students by a seasoned counselor and educator, is now substantially revised. New and expanded content touches on CACREP developments, trauma-informed care, social media, mindfulness, multicultural competencies, and more. With a strong focus on counseling as a specific professional identity, the book helps graduate students and new counselors develop their own approach to counseling and supervision, maintaining beneficial working relationships, self-care, sharpening writing skills, and record-keeping. A completely new chapter focuses on trauma-informed care developed from evidence-based approaches. Concise and accessible, the book describes everything students need to know as they enter and progress through the practicum and internship process. Replete with case examples and sample forms, it encompasses information on how to select and apply for practicum/internships in all settings. It also examines ethical and legal issues, ensuring student safety at field sites, and clinical issues including teletherapy and termination. Instructor and student ancillary materials are included with this new edition. The print version of the book includes free, searchable, digital access to the entire contents New to the Third Edition: Updated to include content on 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and CACREP developmentsNew chapter on trauma-informed care including evidence-based approachesInformation on crisis intervention and de-escalationIncreased content on supervision styles and modelsExpanded information on student safety at field sites, job searching, dealing with mandated/resistant clients, and goal setting and self-evaluationReceiving feedback from supervisors and providing feedback to peersStages of change/client willingness to change as counseling modelDiscussions about social media, vicarious trauma, cyberbullying, and mindfulnessTeletherapy including confidentiality issues, hacking, encryption, and legal issuesMulticultural counseling competenciesExpanded case studiesNew Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slidesKey Features: Focuses on counseling as a specific professional identity and mentors students in a supportive, user-friendly styleCovers everything students need to know as they enter and progress through the practicum/internship processIncludes abundant case examplesA concluding chapter on preparing for the job search, r sum s, cover letters, and negotiating salary
Call Number: Main Library - Axinn Stacks BF636.65 .H63 2021
Publication Date: 2019-12-28
Postmodern Perspectives on Contemporary Counseling Issues by Mark Scholl (Editor); James Hansen (Editor)Postmodernism is one of the most revolutionary and transformative ideological movements to emerge in the history of counseling and psychotherapy. However, descriptions of postmodernism are often abstract and philosophical, thereby making it difficult for practitioners to discern concrete waysthat the ideology might enrich their ability to help clients. In Postmodern Perspectives on Contemporary Counseling Issues, contributions from expert scholars and practitioners clearly detail the implications of postmodern ideology for counseling practice. Contemporary issues such as trauma,addiction, social justice advocacy, couples counseling, and education are conceptualized within a postmodern context, and creative treatment options are illustrated with numerous case examples. Although the broad, conceptual details of postmodernism are reviewed, the primary focus of this text is oninnovative ways to help clients with solution-focused, narrative, and other postmodern approaches. The rich descriptions of the implementation of postmodern approaches and techniques make it an invaluable training tool for supervisors and counselor educators. The book is also ideal for counselors,psychotherapists, and other helping professionals who would like to bolster and enliven their practice with cutting-edge methods, tools, and techniques derived from postmodern ideology.
Call Number: Main Library - Axinn Stacks BF636.6 .P68 2018