LibGuides: ANTH 191 WI Research Seminar in Anthropology: Citations and Plagiarism

Citation Creation & Management

Citation & Style Guides
Link to both print and online citation guides.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar will provide a citation link under items located. This will cite the item found in the most frequently used formats.
Perdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Perdue Online Writing Lab gives detailed information on citation formats. It is also one of the few places that will give you information on how to cite in the text. Type in-text MLA, or in-text APA in the search box to find rules and examples of in-text citation styles.

Database Options for Citing

Some databases have a citation tool embedded within them. These almost never produce a perfect citation but can give you a rough draft which you can then improve by using the style guides or the Perdue University webpages mentioned above.

Most Ebsco databases have a citation option, and articles can usually be mailed to yourself from within the databases with a citation included.

Proquest database and JSTOR also have citation options.

You will need to search in the databases to find them. Sometimes citation functions are associated with mailing functions and sometimes they are stand-alone. Not all databases have these options.

Check with a librarian for further information and assistance on how to find and use citation resources within databases.

Chat with a Librarian

Librarian

David Woolwine

Contact:

902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Criminology, International Students, LGBTQ+ Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Sociology

MLA Handbook Plus Database

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's system for documenting sources in scholarly writing.