Primary Sources: Jewish Studies

DigiBaeck The digitized portions of the collection of the Leo Baeck Institute which is devoted to the study of German Jewish heritage. Contains manuscripts, memoirs, images, some books and periodicals, and recordings, including oral histories of the Holocaust.

Internetarchiv jüdisher Periodika Digital archive of 118 German-language Jewish newspapers and periodicals published circa 1806 to 1938 in German, Austria and elsewhere in Central Europe. PDF's of scanned papers. The interface is entirely in German.

Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust Oral history interviews with survivors of the Holocaust. Maintained by the British Library as part of its collection of recordings.

Nuremberg Trials Project Documents from the Nuremberg trials. Maintained by Harvard Law School.

Recorded Sound Archives: Judaic Collection  Hosted open-access material maintained by Florida Atlantic University. Sound recordings with an emphasis on music.

Yad Vashem Isreal's official memorial to the Holocaust. The website contains an immense amount of archival and educational material.

YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland Maintained by the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research. Not a great deal of text, but photographs, some manuscripts, music and other primary sources.

Early New York Synagogue Archives Five synagogues. Archives from 1730 to early 20th century.

Freiburg Jewish Manuscript Society  Requires free registration. Provides access to manuscripts, books, and other documents. Not entirely primary source material.

Historical Jewish Press Varied collection of Jewish newspapers.

JDC Archives Dedicated to rescue, relief, and rehabilitation. The archives cover 1914 onward.

Ktiv: International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts 

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project Maintained by Carnegie Mellon University. This is a digital archival collection of four Jewish newspapers. Some of the material dates to the 1890s.

National Library of Israel The page opens to the Digital Library which has freely accessible materials. They include newspapers, audio files, art work, and other resources.

Jewish Pamphlets These are part of an on-going project by University College London to digitize the Mocatta and De Sola Collections. Excellent source of primary materials on the Jewish community in Great Britain. Much Sephardic material.

Shapell Manuscript Foundation Emphasis on the United States and on Israel.

Complete Tanakh (Tanach) The Hebrew Bible with Rashi's Commentary. Provided by Chabad.

Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library

Mechon Mamre Hebrew and English versions of the Tanach and major commentaries and texts.

Moses Maimonides. The Guide for the Perplexed. (M. Friedlander 1903 translation.)

Sefaria Digitized copies of major religious texts of Judaism.