LibGuides: Primary Sources: LGBTQ+

Historical Newspapers

Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Newsday Historical This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1940 to 1994.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year.

Digital Archives, Oral Histories, Media Sources, and Goverment Documents

Digital Transgender Archive (Maybe the largest and most important. I would begin research into archival resources here.)

ACTUP Oral History Project

Bay Area Reporter (San Francisco)

The Empty Closet LGBTQ newspaper from the Rochester, NY area. Start date is 1971.

"Gay is Good": Digital Collections in LGBTQ U.S. History" Lisa N. Johnston. College and Research Libraries News. Vol. 80, no. 8 (2019) has a good list with excellent descriptions of the archives reproduced below.

GLBT Historical Society

Independent Voices (Database of "alternative" newspapers)

Invisible History Project Southern States.

Lesbian Herstory Archives The LHA is located in New York City and students may be able to arrange a visit. A portion of the collection is online.

LGBTQ Religious Archive Network

Library of Congress

Libraries and the LGBT Community Although a Wikipedia page, the section entitled "Incomplete List of LGBTQ Archives/Libraries/Special Collections" was started by a librarian. Some of the library webpages contain reading lists and suggestions of specific books to read and may be useful for those doing research or developing a course in LGBT Studies.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

One: National Gay and Lesbian Archive

OutHistory.org

Que(e)ry Librarians maintains an extensive resource page on libraries, museums, archives, oral histories and other resources.

QZAP - Queer Zine Project

Society of American Archivists. Diverse Sexuality and Gender Section specifically publishes this Lavender Legacies Guide.

Stonewall OutLoud - Story Corps