AFST 187 The Revolution Will Not Be Televised: Electronic Resources
What Is A Primary Source?
A primary source is a source that is produced at the time of an historical event by those who usually have participated in it, or at least are close to the actions being described. Historians use primary sources to build up their arguments and accounts. Newspaper accounts at the time can be primary sources. Others would be interviews (even later if it is of those who have participated at the time), diaries, photographs, musical performances at the time, sermons given at the time. The use of primary source material can enhance your presentation. Sometimes it can reveal something unexpected about the events you are studying.
Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States Spanning 2,000 primary source documents related to African American history, from the movement to abolish slavery to the contemporary era, this collection is openly available to anyone interested in U.S. Black history, and the ways the past is reflected in current events.
-
CountryWatch Data and information on countries. Not a source of articles.
-
HeinOnlineAt the bottom of the opening page there is a list of topics, one of which is Civil Rights and Social Justice. The link there allows you to explore HeinOnline's resources in this topic. The libguide provided there also links outward to other resources.
-
History Commons
Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture. These collections are encyclopedic in scope.
-
JSTORThis is an archival database. It usually runs from the first volume of a scholarly peer-reviewed journal up to a “moving wall” ranging from 3 to 5 years of the present date. In Advance Search you can limit your search to journals on African American and African topics.
-
PAIS Index Includes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages. PAIS Archive includes monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Content relates to public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.
-
Sociological Abstracts Provides abstracts and indexes of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes journal articles, citations to book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Sociological Abstracts, PAIS, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts databases abstract and index both scholarly and non-scholarly international literature. All contain some literature on African topics. Use Journal Finder link within the database to determine if Hofstra University holds a copy of an article.
Historical Newspapers
-
AAS Historical Periodicals CollectionThe entire AAS collection features over 7500 periodical titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century.
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Spanning 2,000 primary source documents related to African American history, from the movement to abolish slavery to the contemporary era, this collection is openly available to anyone interested in U.S. Black history, and the ways the past is reflected in current events.
-
Brooklyn EagleDigitized version of The Brooklyn Daily Eagle, which was originally published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963.
-
History Commons
Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture. These collections are encyclopedic in scope.
-
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
-
Newsday HistoricalCoverage from 1940 to 1994.
-
New York Times HistoricalCoverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year.
Open Access
Behind the Veil Oral histories of the Jim Crow South.
Black Abolitionist Archive A digital collection of over 800 speeches and writings, including newspaper articles, by African American abolitionists. Maintained by the University of Detroit Mercy Libraries.
Civil Rights History Project Interviews of individuals involved with the Civil Rights Movement.
Navigating the Green Book The Green Book was a travel guide, published between 1936 and 1966, listing hotels, restaurants, bars and gas stations where Black travelers would be welcome. Mostly, but not exclusively, covers the American South.
North American Slave Narratives Includes slave and former slave narratives but also contains some fiction. Fiction would not count as a primary source necessarily.
Reveal Digital Contains primary source material on the background of the Civil Rights Movement and material on the Great Migration.
Slave Voyages Sponsored by Emory University, the database contains information culled from primary sources on the African slave trade. One can use it to extract data and information about specific voyages and to create statistical reports. It also contains a repository of images and essays on the topic. Please read the Legal page before citing, using and distributing