Determining which library database to use for finding an article for your research paper depends on several factors such as:
Clearly define the topic or subject area of your research paper. This will help identify relevant databases specializing in that field.
Identify interests: Think about what topics interest you.
Research: Look into these topics briefly to see what's already out there.
Narrow down: Choose a specific aspect of one of your interests.
Ask questions: Develop clear questions about this specific aspect.
Identify which database is best: subject-specific? search of all of library's holdings?
Discovery performs a keyword search of all Hofstra University Library holdings and open access resources for print and electronic books, journals, videos, etc..
To search for just articles, click on "Articles" tab:
Enter keywords to search the library's catalog for full text electronic articles.
Subject-specific databases are online libraries dedicated to scholarly materials within a particular academic field, such as medicine or psychology. They help researchers access relevant and reliable information specific to their area of study. Examples include ERIC (education), PubMed (medicine), and PsycINFO (psychology).
LibGuides are online research guides created by libraries to assist users in finding information and resources on specific subjects. These guides are good resources for finding subject-specific databases. Click here for a list of LibGuides arranged by subject.
If you know the name of a specific database, then go to A-Z Databases for an alphabetized list of all Hofstra databases:
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University