JOURNALISM 11 – News Writing & Reporting - Journalism

Journalism Resources

Journalism

Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window contains over 4.6 million photographs dating back to 1826, tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920’s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. The content is primary source and is provided by The Associated Press.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window Includes business, company, and industry periodical articles, news articles, and press releases. Provides detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, HR Law Case Digests, and PDF reports on the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT) for select companies.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides full text, going as far back as 1886, for over two thousand journals, including more than one thousand peer-reviewed titles, in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Provides information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, as well as daily news coverage.

Factiva This link opens in a new window General news and business articles including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, company profiles, economic reports, and exchange rates.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window English dictionary includes present-day meanings as well as the history of individual words and of the language, traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.
Plunkett Research This link opens in a new window Industry data. Includes industry analysis, market research, company profiles, industry statistics, industry contacts, industry glossaries. Also offers the full-text of Plunkett's industry almanacs.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
UNData This link opens in a new window Pools major UN databases and those of several international into one single internet environment. The databases, tables and glossaries cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Journalism: Tip Sheets & Web Sites

State of the News Media

Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism website, Journalism.org [http://www.journalism.org/] offers timely empirical analysis of the Press.

Here you will also find the annual publication, State of the News Media [http://stateofthemedia.org/].
Published annually since 2004, this document offers an overview of the performance and forecasts for all media, as well as surveys and special reports.

AP Stylebook

AP Stylebook

You can access this guide on the library home page under Citation Help.

Online Reference Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Reference eBooks on wide array of subjects. Users must be logged into the Hofstra portal.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window English dictionary includes present-day meanings as well as the history of individual words and of the language, traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books. Users must be logged into the Hofstra portal.

Electronic Reference Databases

You must log into the my.hofstra.edu portal and access the Library home page in order to use these databases.

Biography Reference Bank - Includes biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries. Mostly full text. Includes graphics.

Credo Reference - Multidisciplinary. Full text entries from over 500 reference sources. (Use this database to access current volumes of Marquis Who's Who.)

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Searchable by keyword and subject. Full text. Includes graphics.

RSS: Poynter - MediaWire

Daily news from the Poynter Institute.

Jim Romenesko

Mining Twitter - FloatingSheep.org

Newspapers Online

Newspaper Map

NEWSDAY - Where to find it!

Newsday, (Melville, NY)
Mcclatchy-Tribune Information Services.
Full Text Access

Academic OneFile 2003 - present

Business Insights: Essentials 2003 - present

General OneFile 2003 - present

Hofstra University Microfilm Holdings 1940 - 2010

Hofstra University Print Holdings Current 3 months

InfoTrac Newsstand 2003 - present

Newspaper Source 2003 - 2016
Newsday (1947-1948)
Newsday Incorporated.
Full Text Access

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Newsday (1940-1984) 1947 - 1948
Newsday (1945-1947)
Newsday Incorporated.
Full Text Access

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Newsday (1940-1984) 1945 - 1947
Newsday (1940-1987)
Newsday Incorporated.
Full Text Access

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Newsday (1940-1984) 1940 - 1944, 1948 - 1987
Newsday (New York, NY)
Newsday Incorporated. ISSN: 0278-5587.
Full Text Access

LexisNexis Academic 1988 - present
Newsday - NY (Suffolk Edition)
Unspecified.
Full Text Access

ProQuest Digital Microfilm 2010 - present

Journalism: JOURNALISM 11 – News Writing & Reporting

Journalism Resources

Journalism

Journalism: Tip Sheets & Web Sites

State of the News Media

AP Stylebook

Online Reference Databases

Electronic Reference Databases

RSS: Poynter - MediaWire

Jim Romenesko

Mining Twitter - FloatingSheep.org

Newspapers Online

NEWSDAY - Where to find it!

Newsday, (Melville, NY)

Full Text Access

Newsday (1947-1948)

Full Text Access

Full Text Access

Full Text Access

Full Text Access

Full Text Access