Journalism: Government Statistics

From Empire Center: http://www.empirecenter.org/data/
Data
Empire Center’s Data section now includes over 50 different data sets in seven categories that measure and rank New York’s state and local taxes, spending, debt and economic competitiveness.

The Cost Of Government  |  Economy  |  Education  |  Health Care  |  Transportation  |  Population and Demographics  |  Tax Burdens

U.S. Census Data and Statistics

The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through over 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.

Frequently Requested Statistics from the U.S. Census

Get population and demographic information about the country, individual states, and more:

• View the latest QuickFacts statistics and estimates for the most popular topics..
• See U.S. and world population estimates changing live with the Population Clock.

American FactFinder: https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

Research U.S. Census Survey Results

Explore a variety of data:

• Examine data by community (such as city or zip code) across many different surveys.
• Focus on the data and research from the 2010 Census.
• Review all of the surveys and their data conducted by the Bureau:
  • Surveys of households
  • Surveys of businesses

Other Popular U.S. Census Information

• Use U.S. Census data for genealogical research.
• Census population data is used to divide the seats in the U.S. House of Representatives among the 50 states.
• Curious about whether a request you received to participate in a U.S. Census Bureau survey is real?
  • Learn how to avoid scams that claim to be from the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • Find out how to contact the U.S. Census Bureau to confirm the validity of requests for information.

Federal Government Data and Statistics

There are principal statistical agency programs that collect, analyze and disseminate statistical data and information. These programs include:

• Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) collects information on economic indicators, national and international trade, accounts, and industry.
• Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) collects and publishes information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
• Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
• Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) collects and disseminates transportation statistics.
• Census Bureau is the main source of data about our nation's people and economy.
• DAP Public Dashboard provides a window into how people are interacting with the government online. The data comes from a unified Google Analytics account for U.S. federal government agencies known as the Digital Analytics Program (DAP), sponsored by the General Services Administration (GSA). 
• Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more. 
• Economic Research Service (ERS) informs and enhances public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.  
• Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information.
• National Agricultural Statistical Service (NASS) provides information on agriculture in the U.S.
• National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) collects and analyzes data related to education.
• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) provides statistical information that guides actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
• National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise.
• Office of Personnel Management (OPM) provides data and analysis from its Enterprise Human Resources Integration-Statistical Data mart (EHRI-SDM) and other data sources like FedScope, which is statistical information about the Federal civilian workforce.
• Social Security Administration Office of Research Evaluation and Statistics (ORES) collects, analyzes, and disseminates information on Social Security.
• Statistics of Income (SOI) publishes an annual publication of statistics related to the operations of the internal revenue laws.

You may also search a federal government agency's website to see what types of statistical information they provide. Find the U.S. government department or agency you want to search.

State/Local Government Data and Statistics

State and local government agencies also compile and maintain statistical information. Contact a state or local government for more information:

• State and Territorial Governments
• Local Governments
• State and County QuickFacts

Maps

The National Map offers mapping products from federal, state, and local partners on a variety of topics, such as recreation, environmental resources, scientific analysis, and emergency response.

Additional maps of interest are available at the following links:

• The Census Bureau's Maps and Data provide geographic, demographic, economic, business, and socioeconomic information.
• The Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) MyMaps website provides air, water, land, community, health, and energy data for your area.
• The National Weather Service's (NWS) National Forecast Maps provide current weather information.
• The U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Charts and Maps provide agricultural information by commodity.
• The U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Water Resources website provides water resource maps and data.
• The Recreation.gov Map allows you to search for places and activities in the federal recreational system.