LibGuides: The Israel-Hamas War: Identifying Misinformation/Disinformation

Media Literacy Education

The video above is from FactCheck.org® A Project of The Annenberg Public Policy Center
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. From their Mission Statement, "We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding."
Three typical formats of misinformation: images, statistics, timeliness
MediaWise Voter Project and ATTN.com presents Aliya Jasmine showcasing three typical formats of misinformation: images, statistics, timeliness. See more of MediaWise on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/mediawise/
Navigating Digital Information
From the description, "In 10 episodes, John Green will teach you how to navigate the internet! We’ve partnered with MediaWise, The Poynter Institute, and The Stanford History Education Group to develop this curriculum of hands-on skills to help you evaluate the information you read online."
Checkology from The News Literacy Project
Checkology is a free e-learning platform with engaging, authoritative lessons on subjects like news media bias, misinformation, conspiratorial thinking and more. Learners develop the ability to identify credible information, seek out reliable sources and apply critical thinking skills to separate fact-based content from falsehoods. Requires creation of a free account. Checkology is free to use in the classroom. See https://get.checkology.org/about/ for more information.

Fact Checking - Duke's Reporters' Lab

Duke's Reporters’ Lab is a center for journalism research in the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University the focus of fact-checking. See more at About the Lab. The Lab explains its process here: How We Identify Fact-Checkers.

Use the clickable map or geographical list to discover fact-checking organizations around the world.

Fact Checking - Rating Media Bias

AllSides enables readers to "easily identify bias and similarities in fact checking coverage." AllSides does not check news for accuracy, it rates media outlets according to the types of bias to which fact checkers are most prone. AllSides developed the AllSides Fact Check Bias Chart™ which rates 1400 media outlets for bias.

Check AllSides' daily Misinformation Watch: Israel-Gaza Conflict.

Below is a live feed of daily news from AllSides.

Fact Checking - Fact Checking Organizations

Factcheck.org
From the Annenburg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, the purpose of the website is to "monitor the factual accuracy" that is present in American politics. Its focus is primarily on statements made by U.S. politicians.
Fact Checker - The Washington Post
From the About page, "The purpose of this website, and an accompanying column in the Sunday print edition of The Washington Post, is to “truth squad” the statements of political figures regarding issues of great importance, be they national, international or local."
Fact Checks - The New York Times
Fact checks U.S. politics.
Snopes
Snopes.com conducts extensive fact-checking research on popular topics. Snopes uses a number of icons to classify content: True, Mostly True, Mixture, Mostly False, False, Unproven, Outdated, Miscaptioned, Correct Attribution, Misattributed, Scam, and Legend.
Reuters - Fact Check
From the About page, "Reuters Fact Check monitors digital platforms for misinformation that is linked to news events and to subjects that are being discussed by the communities we serve. We actively seek out groups and accounts that represent opposing viewpoints and apply the same standards of assessment to all content." See more here: https://www.reuters.com/fact-check/about
Politifact
PolitiFact is owned by the nonprofit The Poynter Institute for Media Studies. Items are fact-checked by journalists and rated as "True," "Mostly True," "Half True," "Mostly False," "False," and "Pants on Fire."
International Fact Checking Network Code of Ethics - Signatories' Websites
The International Fact-Checking Network (IFCN) at The Poynter Institute was launched in 2015 to bring together the growing community of fact-checkers around the world. This is a list of the signatories to the IFCN Code of Principles with links to their websites.

Fact Checking - Web-based tools, Apps, & Extensions

Duke's Reporters’ Lab
- The FactStream iOS app brings together the work of three of the largest U.S. fact-checking organizations, The Washington Post, PolitiFact and FactCheck.org. Download in the Apple App Store.
Neiman Lab
- Mobile Majority blog offers up-to-date information on how mobile technology is impacting news production and consumption.
AllSides offers this list of apps and extensions that integrate its media bias ratings.

The following is a list of resources from the RAND Corporation's Countering Truth Decay initiative. See a list of Anti-Disinformation Tools by Category here.

Captain Fact: web-based collection of tools designed for collaborative verification of internet content; includes a browser extension that provides a video overlay to internet videos with sources and contextual information, as well as icons showing the credibility based on user votes
ClaimBuster: web-based automated, live fact-checking tool; relies on natural language processing and supervised learning (based on a human-coded dataset) to identify factual and false information; app available for Slack
Digital Polarization Initiative: allows for the crowdsourced verification of claims submitted by university students
Duke Videofactchecking Tool: browser extension that will provide live factchecking of information on television
Glorious Contextubot: verification and fact-checking tool that identifies the sources of audio and video content
Hoaxy (Observatory on Social Media): web-based tool that visualizes the spread of articles online; searches for claims and fact-checking going back to 2016; tracks the sharing of links to stories from low-credibility sources and independent fact-checking organizations
Lead Stories FactChecker: web-based fact-checking platform that identifies false or misleading stories, rumors, and conspiracies by using its Trendolizer technology to identify trending content that is then fact-checked by their team of journalists
Misinformation Detector: web-based "decentralized trust protocol" blockchain tool that is designed to track the credibility of news; tool measures trust by analyzing the content and what it is linked to, establishing a network of how the content is spread across media organizations
Our.News: website, browser extension, and app that provides fact-checking through crowdsourcing; content is rated based on "spin," "trust," "accuracy," and "relevance"; bias-detection algorithms are used to weight user ratings
Polygraph (BBG): web-based fact-checking platform that relies on journalists to research government statements and reports, along with statements by high-profile individuals; classifies the reports based on their measure of credibility and provides additional context
Share the Facts Widget
- "Share the Facts" is a web-based widget and Slack application that provides readers with a summary of a fact-checked article, highlighting the claim that is checked and the conclusion.
Truth Goggles: web-based tool aimed at presenting factual content to partisan audiences by asking users to read claims, then engage with PolitiFact analysis of those claims, then read the claims again
TV News Fact Check: an initiative developing an archive of digital media, ranging from web pages, books and texts, audio recordings, videos, images, and software programs
Video Verification Plugin (InVid): plug-in toolkit designed to assist fact-checking through video verification; tool provides users with contextual information on videos, reverse image searching, video metadata, video copyright information, along with other features to assist in verifying content

Contact info for this page

This page was created by Prof. Annmarie Boyle. Comments, suggestions, corrections, etc., should be sent to Annmarie.Boyle@Hofstra.edu.