Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing Studies & Composition 2 - Prof. Cipriani: Articles

Contact Informaiton

Ann Grafstein, MLIS, Ph.D.
Professor of Library Services
902H Axinn Library
516-463-5052
ann.grafstein@hofstra.edu

Contact me using the information above or click on the button below to schedule an appointment.

Finding Articles from the Articles Tab

The easiest way to find articles is to click the Articles tab on the Library's homepage and type your search in the search box. This will search all of Hofstra's databases.

Sample Database Search

Suppose you  are interested in how the COVID-19 pandemic affects incidences of domestic violence. This is an example of a sample search from Sociology Database. Often the full text of the articles in the result list are available within the database.

If there is no full text available within the database click on Find a copy and then on the Find it at Hofstra link that pops up,

 

 

This will open the following screen.Click where it says View Full Text and find the article by searching the issue of the journal that includes the article.

For more details on using Find it at Hofstra  see the guide, Journals Search and Find Article: A Tutorial.

Finding Articles Using the Research Databases

If you are not finding enough material through an article search, you may have better luck going directly into the Research Databases. Access them by clicking on Browse the A-Z list of databases underneath the Articles tab. Here is a list of some good sources of articles for research in the social sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate

Multidisciplinary databases that contains the full text of many scholarly and non-scholarly articles

Social Science Database

Academic journals from a wide variety of disciplines, including anthropology, political science, sociology, criminology, psychology, education, etc.

Sociology Collection

Brings together three databases including Sociological Abstracts, Sociology Database and Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts

Statista

Contains statistics and reports from business, market research and government agencies

 

 

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University