Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 102: Serial Killers

Search for articles

Use OneSearch to search across many (not all!!) of Hofstra databases in a single search.  Click here for a list of databases not included in OneSearch.  Click here for a brief tutorial on using OneSearch.  Note that OneSearch will also connect you to books, eBooks, and other types of sources.  Each entry will have an icon indicating source type (academic article, newspaper, book, etc.)

HUL's OneSearch

Try the following databases to locate scholarly (academic) journal articles.  Do you want peer-reviewed articles?  Many of the databases will allow you to limit your searching to peer-reviewed articles.  Click here to access the full list of Databases selected for History.  Click here to access the full list of Databases selected for Politics/Government.

Try the following Databases to locate newspaper and magazine articles.  Click here to access the full list of newspaper databases.

Did you know you can set up your own library in Google Scholar?  Click here for instructions on setting it up--you will be able to save and organize your search results. 

If the full text of the article you need is not available in the database you are currently searching, click on the link that appears in your results list.  This will take you to Journal Finder --an electronic list of journals that we subscribe to (click on the link below for direct access to Journal Finder).  Journal Finder will let you know if the full text of your article is available in another of Hofstra's databases.  You can also click on the following link for a brief tutorial on using Journal Finder.

If you require a book or journal article not available at Hofstra, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request the material.  Click on the link below.  If you are a first-time user, you will be prompted to set up an account--it's easy and it's free--just remember to use your Hofstra network account.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University