Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OER and Scholarly Communication: Preprints

A general guide to open educational resources.

Center for Open Science Preprints

Search across preprints, OSF Preprints Search. Searches most of the preprint services on this page and provides full list of providers.

Science and Cognitive Science

Preprints: The Multidisciplinary Preprint Platform  Run out of Switzerland, international and interdisciplinary in focus.

arXiv.org   Open access pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and economics.

bioRXiv Open access pre-prints in the biological sciences, including some medicine related fields.

CiteSeerX A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.  Contains some material on the philosophy of science.

 PaleorXiv  A community-led platform for paleontologists to upload and share open access pre-prints.

EarthArXiv Open access pre-prints in the earth sciences.

AfricArXiv Archive of preprints of scientists from Africa. Outputs in all scientific fields.

Cogprints Archive of preprints and publications in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy of mind other areas of philosophy, and biology.

PREreviews  Largely science. Seeks to promote preprints. Allows for review of preprints.

 

Humanities and Social Sciences

Preprints: The Multidisciplinary Preprint Platform  Run out of Switzerland, international and interdisciplinary in focus.

Cogprints Archive of preprints and publications in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy of mind other areas of philosophy, and biology.

arXiv.org   Open access pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and economics.

LIS Scholarship Archive Library Science preprints and other open access materials such as data, metadata, student papers and manuscripts. Submission at https://lissarchive.org/

SocArXiv Preprints in the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Law, and Education.

SSRN Articles and preprints. Range of disciplines in the social sciences.

Preprint Guidelines From Publishers and Databases

Some journals have specific policies in regard to posting preprints.Check with the journal to which you are submitting. Below is the database Elsevier's policy, which encourages linking from the preprint to the formal publication via the DOI. 

Elsevier Article Sharing

STM Voluntary Principles STM is a international scholarly publishing trade association.

Coalition for Responsible Sharing Trade organizations' statement on controversial surrounding ResearchGate.

 

Librarian

David Woolwine's picture
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University