LibGuides: Criminology: Major Criminology Resources

Electronic Reference Resources

These are permanently held electronic reference items. There may be other electronic reference items in the catalogue.

Latinos and Criminal Justice: A Reference Handbook

Print Reference

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment. 3 vols. Ref HV6017 E5243 2016.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice. Ref. KF9223 E6 2002. (Good source of essays and historical knowledge. Not current in terms of statistics and current law.)

Useful Databases for Criminology

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Building on the reporting and analysis done throughout the year by CQ's news staff, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session since 1946, with new content published every 2 years (per congressional session).
CQ Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of Congressional action starting from 1945 and updated with new content every 4 years (each presidential election year).
Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
- Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current)
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database (1975 - current)
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Criminal Justice Database‎ (1981 - current): International and scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database‎ (1975 - current): Journal articles, reports, books, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research in criminal and juvenile justice, law enforcement, etc.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
if you scroll to the bottom of the opening page of the database there is a link to the specific Criminal Justice and Criminology component of HeinOnline. From there you can search directly within the criminology journals. The collection also contains some books, many reports, policy papers, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content. Hofstra subscribes to several JSTOR collections and single titles.
Hofstra subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through VII, as well as the Life Sciences Collection and JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
- Sociological Abstracts
- Sociology Database
- Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
  (ASSIA)
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Sociological Abstracts‎ (1952 - current):indexes international scholarly literature in sociology and includes companion file Social Services Abstracts
- Sociology Database‎ (1985 - current): Sociology and social work - journal articles
- Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
  (ASSIA)‎ (1987 - current): Health services, social work, sociology and psychology - journal articles

Gun Violence Resources

Muse in Focus: Addressing Gun Violence Project Muse has made available electronic books and articles on the issue of gun violence.

Blogs

Marshall Project Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization focusing on reporting on the US criminal justice system and encouraging a conversation about criminal justice in order to bring about social change.

Criminal Law and Criminal Justice Books Great source of book reviews. Maintained by Rutgers University

Subject Guide

David Woolwine

Contact:

902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Criminology, International Students, LGBTQ+ Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Sociology