History Subject Resource Guide
Google Scholar
Did you know you can set up your own library in Google Scholar? Click here for instructions on setting it up--you will be able to save and organize your search results.
Gateway Sites
Gateway sites are intended to provide access to a wide variety of websites. The sites listed here are generally provided by universities and/or scholarly/professional organizations. Remember, you must carefully evaluate websites you use for quality and credibility! See the Tip Sheets box on this page.
-
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy Contains primary source documents relating to world history. Search by time period.Provided by Yale University
-
EuroDocs Collection of primary source documents relating to the history of Europe. The site is organized by country.
-
History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web Designed primarily for educators, this site can be very useful for students. "Many Pasts" will connect you to a wealth of primary sources, "Making Sense of Evidence" will connect you to information on how to analyze primary sources, and "www.history" will connect you to a wide variety of annotated websites. Allows searching across the site!Provided by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University
-
Library of Congress Great site for American history and general studies. It contains primary and secondary documents, exhibits, map collections, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and motion pictures. Check out the American Memory Historical Collections and the Exhibitions Gallery.
-
National Archives and Records Administration The National Archives is the nation's record keeper whose mission is to "provide public access to Federal Government records in our custody and control...." Explore the digital vault, online exhibits, our nations founding documents and more.
-
Voice of the Shuttle: History Provides a briefly annotated guide to online resources. The site is very large but well organized. Links to both primary and secondary source materials.Provided by the University of California at Santa Barbara.
-
WWW Virtual Library: History Provides access to a variety of sites. Organized by topic but is also searchable.
- Last Updated: Dec 3, 2025 9:15 AM
- URL: https://libguides.hofstra.edu/History
- Print Page