Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Primary Sources
19th Century Pamphets
Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture. These collections are encyclopedic in scope.
Digitized version of The Brooklyn Daily Eagle, which was originally published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
New York Times Historical
Coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year.
Times (London) Digitial Archive
Digital archive of the London Times, from 1785 to 1985.
Women and Social Movements International
A collection of primary sources that traces the global history of women’s international agendas and their influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have come to define modern life.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University