Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOM EndNote: Cite While You Write (CWYW)

This guide will help you set up and use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web.

About Cite While You Write (CWYW)

The Cite While You Write feature allows you to insert in-text citations and create a bibliography using the references you've imported into your EndNote library. The in-text citations and bibliography styles can be formatted with just a click of the mouse.

Troubleshooting CWYW

If the Cite While You Write tool crashes, please consult the document below for additional troubleshooting instructions.

Inserting References - EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web

Inserting References - EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web (For Mac)

  1. From a Word document, place your cursor to where you want your in-text reference to be inserted.
  2. Go to the Tools menu
  3. Click EndNote  or EndNote Web
  4. Click Find Citation(s). If you're not signed into EndNote Web, you will be prompted to do so sometime during this process.
  5. Enter in a search term to locate the desired reference and click the Find button
  6. Highlight the desired reference from the list of results and click the Insert button.
  7. You should have an in-text citation as well as a bibliography added to your document. The bibliography will start a couple of lines after the last line of text. If you would like the bibliography to be on a separate page, place a page break before the bibliography.
  8. If the in-text and bibliography style are not the one you want for your paper, see instructions on Changing Citation Styles (For Mac) or Changing Citation Styles (For PC).

Inserting References - EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web (For PC)

  1. From a Word document, place your cursor to where you want your in-text reference to be inserted.
  2. Click the EndNote tab located on your Microsoft Word ribbon
  3. Click the Insert Citation button
  4. Enter in a search term to locate the desired reference and click the Find button
  5. Highlight the desired reference and click the Insert button
  6. You should have an in-text citation as well as a bibliography added to your document. The bibliography will start a couple of lines after the last line of text. If you would like the bibliography to be on a separate page, insert a page break before the bibliography using Microsoft Word.
  7. If the in-text and bibliography style are not the one you want for your paper, see instructions on Changing Citation Styles (For Mac) or Changing Citation Styles (For PC).

Changing Citation Styles - EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web

Changing Citation Styles - EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web (For Mac)

  1. Go to the Tools menu
  2. Click EndNote or EndNote Web
  3. Click Format Bibliography and select a citation style
  4. If you're unable to find the style you're looking for click Select Another Style from the Format Bibliography menu, select the preferred citation style, and click Ok.
  5. The in-text citation as well as the bibliography should automatically change once you select a citation style.

Changing Citation Styles - EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web (For PC)

  1. Click on the EndNote tab located on your Microsoft Word ribbon
  2. Under the Style dropdown menu, select a citation style
  3. If you're unable to find the style you're looking for click Select Another Style from the dropdown menu, select the preferred citation style, and click Ok.
  4. The in-text citation as well as the bibliography should automatically change once you select a citation style.

Switching between EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web

If you have both EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web, you can select which account you want to pull your references from.

  1. From your working Word document, go to the Tools menu
  2. Click EndNote or EndNote Web
  3. Click Preferences
  4. Click the Application tab
  5. From the Application dropdown menu, select either EndNote or EndNote Online.
  6. Click the Ok button

If you have both EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web, you can select which account you want to pull your references from.

  1. From your working Word document, click the EndNote tab located on your Microsoft Word ribbon.
  2. Click Preferences
  3. Click the Application tab
  4. From the Application dropdown menu, select either EndNote or EndNote Online.
  5. Click the Ok button
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University