Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOM EndNote: Home

This guide will help you set up and use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web.

What is EndNote?

What is EndNote?

  • A bibliographic citation management tool
  • A place to create and keep a library of citations 
  • A tool to format bibliographies in a variety of styles
  • A place to take and keep notes concerning specific citations
  • A place that you can keep full text articles, images, or tables
  • A resource that allows you to share citations with others

Comparison of Features and Capacity

 

 

EndNote Web

(Web of Science)

EndNote Desktop

How to get it

Register through Web of Science

Open a ticket with the main Northwell IT department

What you get access to

Online

Desktop & online

Platforms

Web browser

Mac, PC, iPad App

Reference storage

50,000

Unlimited

Attachment storage

2 GB

Unlimited

Library sharing

 

Reference sharing

Manuscript matching

Automatic reference updating

 

Advanced reference organization

 

Online database searching

Create a list of favorite styles

Create custom groups of references

Create smart groups of references for instant sorting

 

One click to find full text

 

Annotate and highlight PDFs

 

Search PDF text and annotations

 

PDF auto-import folder

 

Smart reference creation

 

Integrated with Microsoft Word

Predefined bibliographic formatting styles

4,200+

7,000+

Create your own formatting styles

 

Multiple bibliographies in a single document

 

Subheading and category bibliographies

 

Composite references

 

Field substitutions

 

Journal abbreviation recognition & standardization

 

Custom options to add more database providers

 

Max number of fields

54

54

Max number of reference types

58

55

Unicode compliant

 

Contact Us (SOM)

Debra Rand, MS, AHIP
Associate Dean for Library Services
T: 516-463-7537


Wendy Herman, MLIS, AHIP
Head of Education and Access Services
T: 516-463-7594


Leanna Stager, MLIS
Scholarly Publications Librarian
T: 516-463-7510


Chengliang Zhang, MLIS, PhD, MS
Data Services and Research Impact Librarian
T: 516-463-7119

Contact Us (Northwell)

For further assistance or questions about using EndNote to manage your citations, contact your local facility librarian.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University