Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film and Media Collections

DVDs,VHS, links to streaming video resources Need help? Call the library at 516-463-5986

Online Video Resources

A number of openly accessible Internet sites provide access to streaming videos. These sites may host content or merely point to content hosted elsewhere. Advertising supports some of these sites. Others are the official site for a producer, distributor, series, or festival. Searching functions on these sites vary widely, and content can change or be removed without notice. For additional information click on the site name, below.

Disclaimer:  Hofstra University Library is not responsible for any of the content linked from these sites.  We cannot guarantee availability of the content they provide, nor assume responsibility for the functionality of these sites.

American Memory

Connect to American Memory

Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the American Memory collections from the Library of Congress.

American Rhetoric

Connect to American Rhetoric

Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.

Not all speeches have accompanying videos. Site supported by advertising, and maintained by a speech communication professor.

Annenberg Media

Connect to Annenberg Media

Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes more than 100 multimedia courses and workshops to help teachers keep current on the content they teach. Professional development resources provide teachers with research on the most effective teaching strategies along with their connection to national education content standards, and examples of these principles applied in real classrooms. The video components are paired with extensive Web sites that include online texts, course and workshop guides, and extensive background information to enhance the learning experience. Using these resources, teachers can learn from experts, other teachers, and even students who reveal their unique interpretations of the content.

Not all series listed on the site are available for streaming.  This graphic marks programs available for online viewing .  Many of the videos include closed captioning. 

Archive of American Television

Connect to The Archive of American Television

Archive of American Television has conducted over 800 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide. The Archive  continues to produce new interviews every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history.

ARKive

Connect to ARKive

ARKive is sponsored by the wildlife charity Wildscreen. Their mission is to use the power of wildlife imagery to inspire the global community to discover, value and protect the natural world. Working with the world’s very best wildlife and environmental filmmakers and photographers, Wildscreen collects, curates, showcases and shares the world’s best wildlife imagery through a series of inter-related initiatives, each uniquely helping to deliver the charity’s mission.

C-SPAN Video Library

Connect to C-SPAN Video Library

The C-SPAN Video Library began in 1987 as a way to archive and index the thousands of hours of congressional coverage produced by the network every year. The project quickly became one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content.

In 2010, C-SPAN won its third Peabody Award for the Video Library—now a collection totaling over 213,000 hours of programming first made available to the public for free in 2007. In addition, The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource.

Civil Rights Digital Library

Connect to Civil Rights Digital Library

The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.

EVIA Digital Archive Project - Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis

Connect to EVIA Digital Archive

The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan, the Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts. Beyond the primary mission of digitally preserving ethnographic field video, the EVIA Project has also invested significantly in the creation of software and systems for the annotation, discovery, playback, peer review, and scholarly publication of video and accompanying descriptions.

Folkstreams

Connect to Folkstreams

Folkstreams mission is to build a national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures, and to give those films renewed life by streaming them on the internet. The films were produced by independent filmmakers in a golden age that began in the 1960s and was made possible by the development first of portable cameras and then capacity for synch sound. Their films focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different regions and communities. The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is an institutional partner.

Frontline

Connect to Frontline

FRONTLINE has served as American public television’s flagship public affairs series since 1983.

Described by The Atlantic as “the best news program on television,” the series has built a reputation for powerful investigative storytelling that tackles the tough, controversial and complex stories that shape our times. More than 180 FRONTLINE documentaries are streaming in full online.

HippoCampus

Connect to HippoCampus

HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge. Teachers project HippoCampus content during classroom learning and assign it for computer labs and homework. Students use the site in the evenings for study and exam prep.

International Monetary Fund

Connect to International Monetary Fund Videos

Provides more than 1,000 short-form videos, generally under 5 minutes, produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).  Search options permit searching by a combination of elements:  Category, Country, Year, Language, and Keyword.  Categories include:  Countries and Regions, Economic Outlook, Speeches and Interviews, Topics and Issues, among others.

Internet Archive

Connect to The Internet Archive

The Moving Image Archive contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons, concerns, and ephemeral material.

Internet Movie Database Freedive

Connect to

IMdb FreeDive

Provides access to full-length films and television episodes, many in the public domain.  The alphabetic listing of titles links to the IMDB page that describes the film and provides a link to stream the video.  The link may redirect or pull the stream from another site such as the Internet Archive, SnagFilms, or Hulu.

The Mike Wallace Interview

Connect to The Mike Wallace Interview

In the early 1960’s, broadcast journalist Mike Wallace donated 65 recorded interviews made in 1957-58 from his show The Mike Wallace Interview to the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. The bulk of these were 16mm kinescope film recordings, some of the earliest recordings of live television that were possible, and that survive today. Many of these have not been seen for over 50 years, and they represent a unique window into a turbulent time of American, and world history. From Senators to strippers, Ku Klux Klansmen to Nobel Prize winners, Mike Wallace has interviewed them all.

NOVA

Connect to NOVA

Access to selected programs from the acclaimed PBS science series. Closed captions are available. Available videos are organized by broad subject categories:  Ancient Worlds, Body & Brain, Evolution, Military & Espionage, Nature, Physics & Math, Planet Earth, Space & Flight, Tech & Engineering.

The Paramount Vault

Connect to The Paramount Vault

The Paramount Vault showcases a collection of Paramount full-length films and clips including selections that range from black-and-white to color, comedy to horror, and everything in between. Viewers are invited to explore the vast landscape of cinema’s history, share their favorite films, and discover new ones through this official channel created by Paramount Pictures.

PBS Learning Media

Connect to PBS Learning Media

PBS LearningMedia offers teachers more than 100,000 videos, images, interactives, lesson plans and articles drawn from critically acclaimed PBS programs such as NOVA, FRONTLINE, AMERICAN EXPERIENCE, and SID THE SCIENCE KID, and from expert content contributors like The National Archives and NASA. 

Content aligns with Common Core State Standards.

PBS Video

Connect to PBS Video

Stream full episodes of selected recent content.

ScienceCinema

Connect to ScienceCinema

Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research.  State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

Connect to Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, the Scripps archive provides a unique collection of material on the U.S. presidency. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.

WGBH Open Vault

Connect to WGBH Open Vault

Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.

YouTube

Connect to YouTube

YouTube can occasionally be a source of last resort for out-of-print and hard-to-find content. It also has many funny clips of goats.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University