Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LGBTQ+ Studies Minor: Archives and Special Collections

Doing Archival Work

Books of Interest.

Make  Your Own History; Documenting Feminist and Queer Activism in the 21st Century. Editors, Lyz Bly and Kelly Wooten. 2012. Axinn HQ1155. M346 2012

Ephemeral Material: Queering the Archive. Alana Kumbier, 2014. Axinn CD971. K86 2014

Archiving Transgender: Affects, Logics, and the Power of Queer History. (Ph.D. dissertation). Kelly Jacob Rawson, Syracuse University, 2010. (Open-access and downloadable at the site.)

Selected Journal Articles

You must be logged in to access the Permalinks to the articles. They are permanent as long as Hofstra University holds the subscription to the journal.

Bryan-Wilson, J., & Dunye, C. (2013). Imaginary Archives: A Dialogue. Art Journal, 72 (2), 82-89. Permalink

Chen, M.Y. (2010). Everywhere Archives. Australian Feminist Studies, 25 (64), 199-208. Permalink

Latimer, T.T. (2013). Conversations on Queer Affect and Queer Archives. Art Journal, 72 (2), 34-37. Permalink

Lewis, A.J. (2014).  I Am 64 and Paul McCarthy Doesn't Care. Radical History Review, (120), 13-34. Permalink

Marshall, D., Murphy, K.P., & Tortorici, Z. (2014). Queering Archives: Historical Unravelings. Radical History Review, (120), 1-11. Permalink

McBane, B. (2013). Veronica's Ghost: Queer Time and the Porous Archive. Art Journal, 72 (2), 58-63. Permalink

 

Hofstra Special Collections

At Hofstra University archival resources are held in Special Collections. There is a link to the full description, including location, phone numbers and hours of operation, on the University Library Webpage. Within Special Collections the following three collections may be of special interest to those doing LGBTQ+ research. Consult with staff members of Special Collections to find out about other resources held there.

The Howard L. and Muriel Weingrow Collection of Avant-Garde Art and Literature. Contains materials on artists and authors of GLBT interest.

The Avant-Garde Literature Collection. Poetry and other literature from circa 1950 to the 1970s.

The Private Press Collection. Small and special presses many of which published on GLBT topics. Best to know the name of the author, the publisher or title when using this collection.

The Pulp Fiction Collection. The Hofstra University collection of pulp fiction (mid 1930s to late 1960s) focuses on specific "edge" fiction. Typical examples deal with race, ethnicity, drug culture, capitivity and domination themes, as well as a growing number of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendr literary themes.

Digital Archives, Oral Histories, Media Sources, and Goverment Documents

ACTUP Oral History Project

Bay Area Reporter (San Francisco)

Digital Transgender Archive

The Empty Closet LGBTQ newspaper from the Rochester, NY area. Start date is 1971.

"Gay is Good": Digital Collections in LGBTQ U.S. History" Lisa N. Johnston. College and Research Libraries News. Vol. 80, no. 8 (2019) has a good list with excellent descriptions of the archives reproduced below.

GLBT Historical Society

Independent Voices  (Database of "alternative" newspapers)

Invisible History Project Southern States.

Lesbian Herstory Archives The LHA is located in New York City and students may be able to arrange a visit. A portion of the collection is online.

LGBTQ Religious Archive Network

Library of Congress

Libraries and the LGBT Community Although a Wikipedia page, the section entitled "Incomplete List of LGBTQ Archives/Libraries/Special Collections" was started by a librarian. Some of the library webpages contain reading lists and suggestions of specific books to read and may be useful for those doing research or developing a course in LGBT Studies.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

One: National Gay and Lesbian Archive

OutHistory.org

Que(e)ry Librarians maintains an extensive resource page on libraries, museums, archives, oral histories and other resources.

QZAP - Queer Zine Project

Society of American Archivists. Diverse Sexuality and Gender Section specifically publishes this Lavender Legacies Guide.

Stonewall OutLoud - Story Corps

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Other Primary Sources

NYC LGBT Historical Sites Project An initiative to document historic and cultural sites associated with LGBT experience in New York City.

Dallas Denny is a transgender activist and historian. She has donated a collection of materials to the University of Michigan's Special Collections Library, where it is held as the National Transgender Library and Archive collection, 1977-2001. In this link she discusses transgender autobiography.

Chrysalis Quarterly Blog/Journal successor to the print publication by the same name which ceased in 1998. Focus on transgender issues.

Songs for the Holy Other By the Hymn Society in the United States and Canada.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University