The main objective of writing a grant proposal is to secure funding for a specific purpose or goal. Typically, grant writing is an application to receive funding for a project or organization that does not need to be paid back.
Anatomy and Art of Writing a Successful Grant Application: A Practical Step-by-Step Approach: Gholipour et al. (2014) provide a practical overview of grant writing, as well as a list of resources that are particularly useful.
Center for Rural Health's Grant Writing Toolkit (und.edu): This toolkit provides the information, resources, and materials needed to write and submit a grant proposal.
Introduction to Grant Writing: Purdue Owl's Guide to Grant Writing in the Sciences
Grant writing Checklist for Research Proposals: Checklist adapted from NIH requirements.
Grant Proposals (or Give me the money!) – The Writing Center • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (unc.edu)
Fundamentals of Grant Writing for Public Health: Presentation by Stephen Notaro and Diane Smith, Department of Kinesiology & Community Health, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Centers for Disease Control - Grants: Funding opportunities from CDC.
Foundation Directory Online: Included is a database of the entire universe of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers; a database of sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of recently awarded grants.
Grants.Gov: A centralized, searchable database of more than 1,000 different grant programs across federal grant-making agencies awarding more than $500 billion annually.
NY/NJ Area Common Application: Philanthropy New York and the Council of New Jersey Grantmakers (CNJG) spearheaded a project to develop common application and report forms to help streamline the grant application process and ease the time-consuming grant preparation process. The four-page application format includes directions for use, a sample cover sheet, and the common grant proposal guidelines.
Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute: The Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI), an independent nonprofit, nongovernmental organization located in Washington, DC, was authorized by Congress in 2010.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) - Grants Find funding opportunities that support programs for substance use disorders and mental illness, and learn about the grant application, review, and management process.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University