It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alexander Street Press Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 titles from more than 300 unique content partners including BBC, Bloomberg, Learning, Discovery, CBS, HBO, National Geographic, NBCUniversal, and many more. Subject coverage is broad. Interactive transcripts and closed captioning are available.
Docuseek2This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary streaming video database, offering documentary films for higher education.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary streaming video database, offering films from the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and many more.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowprovides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Also includes a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Education CollectionThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the following databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
Education Database
ERIC
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
Education Database: Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
ERIC: Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
Health Source: Nursing/AcademicThis link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information
MedlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information for a complete evaluation of test products within such areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
PILOTSThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Incluldes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Sociology CollectionThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
Sociological Abstracts
Sociology Database
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
(ASSIA)
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current):indexes international scholarly literature in sociology and includes companion file Social Services Abstracts
Sociology Database (1985 - current): Sociology and social work - journal articles
Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 280 teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Sociology DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowInternational literature in sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
VideativesThis link opens in a new windowVideo Clips for Early Education & Child Development. Contains 360+ video titles to increase your understanding of children's thinking and learning.
Advanced Searching on Ebsco Databases
Databases: If you know...
If you know the name of a specific database, then go to A-Z Databases for an alphabetized list of all Hofstra databases:
