Evidence-Based Practice
Books
-
Evidence-Based Practice in Action
by
A growing number of empirically supported treatments are available to mental health practitioners, yet evidence-based practice requires knowledge and skills that are often overlooked in clinical training. This authoritative reference and text grounds the reader in the concepts, rationale, and methods of evidence-based practice. Clinicians and students are guided to consult and evaluate the research literature, use data to inform clinical decision making, consider the role of culture and context, craft sound case formulations, monitor progress and outcomes, and continuously develop their expertise. Of particular utility, the book includes rich, chapter-length case studies. Leading proponents of cognitive-behavioral therapy, dialectical behavior therapy, behavioral activation, and other approaches make explicit the ways they draw on evidence throughout the process of assessment and treatment.
Call Number: RC454 .E867 2019 - Main Library - Axinn StacksISBN: 9781462539765Publication Date: 2019-08-30 -
Qualitative Research in Evidence-Based Rehabilitation
by
This book provides an inexpensive and accessible discussion of qualitative research and the potential role for qualitative research in enhancing both the theoretical bases of occupational and physical therapy and the knowledge bases that inform evidence-based practice. It is a comprehensive text for students in the rehabilitation disciplines with examples drawn from research undertaken by physical therapists and occupational therapists. The book provides a resource for graduate students, researchers new to the field and to clinicians who seek a greater understanding of qualitative research and its use within the professions of occupational and physical therapy. Coverage and Orientation Occupational and physical therapists are being urged to adhere to "evidence-based practice" because clients and payers want services that are based on evidence that demonstrates their effectiveness. Qualitative Research in Rehabilitation : informing evidence-based practice will be a timely, practical and practice-related exploration of qualitative research, client-centred practice and evidence-based practice as these inter-relate and as they pertain to occupational and physical therapy. The material addresses a subject of increasing concern and relevance to therapists. Thorough explanations demonstrate the relevance of qualitative research for evidence-based practice. The text explores issues specific to the field of rehabilitation and focusses specifically on those important to OT and PT. Information links theory, research and practice in an understandable way. Resource effectively uses boxes and tables to highlight key packets of information Illustrations of "real" research and practice examples aid the reader in applying their new-found knowledge to real-life issues. The book is written in a readable style which makes the book accessible for students and non-academically minded practitioners.
Call Number: RM708 .Q82 2004 - Main Library - Axinn StacksISBN: 0443072310Publication Date: 2003-12-30 -
Nursing Research
by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Call Number: WY20.f N97445 2018 - Health Sciences Library Health Sciences LibraryISBN: 9780323431316Publication Date: 2017-07-26 -
Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities
by
Historically, mental health clinical research has taken inadequate account of psychosocial disorders experienced by those who identify as sexual and gender minorities, however, researchers have recently begun developing and adapting evidence-based mental health treatment approaches for use with these groups. Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities offers a comprehensive array of evidence-based approaches for treating sexual and gender minority clients' mental health concerns. The interventions detailed here span a diverse spectrum of populations, including sexual and gender minority youth, transgender populations, same-sex couples, sexual minority parents, and bisexual individuals. Chapters also address numerous mental and behavioral health problems, including anxiety disorders, depression, substance abuse, trauma, body image disturbance, and sexual health. In addition to an overview of the research evidence supporting each clinical presentation and approach, chapters contain practical how-to guidance for therapists to use in their clinical practice. This book reflects a true integration of the best of sexual and gender minority research and the best of evidence-based practice research, presented by the leading experts in the field. As such it is essential reading for mental health professionals who work with these groups, as well as trainees in social work, counseling, and clinical psychology.
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 H35 2019 - Main Library - Axinn StacksISBN: 9780190669300Publication Date: 2019-04-24 -
Social Scaffolding
by
Using current societal dilemmas, this book explores how social factors and social identity influence our health and recovery from illness. It includes recent research to present practitioners, researchers, policymakers and students of many disciplines with the material to support them in better harnessing current knowledge of the impact of social factors on health. The contents will influence collaborative working across policy, disciplinary and practice boundaries to design and deliver healthcare services. The book identifies the importance of social connectedness, social support, agency and self and group efficacy in people's health, longevity and resilience after adversity. Core perspectives include the social identity approach and a values framework for taking public health ethics into decision-making, both of which emphasise valuing people and co-productive relationships. Advocating better targeted mental health promotion and integrated interventions, this book strongly argues for a greater emphasis on social factors in evidence-based and cost-effective practice.
Call Number: RA418 .S6428 2019 - Main Library - Axinn StacksISBN: 9781911623045Publication Date: 2019-07-04
Ebooks
-
Implementing the evidence-based practice (EBP) competencies in healthcare : a practical guide for improving quality, safety, and outcomes
by
Call Number: eBook 2016ISBN: 9781940446448 -
Empirical Nursing
by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
ISBN: 9781787438132Publication Date: 2018-10-26 -
Evidence use in health policy making : an international public policy perspective
by
ISBN: 9783319934679Publication Date: eBook 2018 -
Evidence-Based Practice in Dementia for Nurses and Nursing Students
by
This essential textbook on dementia care introduces the knowledge that nurses need, including the evidence base for practice and the guidance to transfer this newly acquired knowledge into everyday practice. Each of the 25 chapters are written by experts in the field of dementia care and are grounded in thoroughly researched, up-to-date evidence, have a direct bearing to nurse practice, and use case studies to give examples of application of the evidence to practice. It begins by introducing dementia as a diagnosis, a syndrome, and a set of diseases, signs and symptoms. It then deals with various principles that underpin dementia care, including person-centred care, behaviours that challenge, risk management, and understanding relationships affected by dementia. Finally, it assesses dementia care across a range of care settings, such as primary care, care homes, domiciliary care, acute hospital, and hospice services.
ISBN: 9781784507978Publication Date: 2019-06-21 -
Evidence-Based Applied Sport Psychology
by
This is the first book to call for a major paradigm shift in applied sport psychology by providing a wealth of systematic, scientifically validated research in a field where assessment and treatment has often been haphazard. In his quest to bring sport psychology to a higher level of validity, Dr. Carlstedt describes the most current assessment methods, intervention procedures, and promising research that are critical for use in evidence-based practice. These assessment and treatment methods are based on 25 years of rigorous scientific approaches and principles that incorporate the most sophisticated research methods now available. The book describes the mechanisms that influence peak performance or psychological performance deficits and the mental training process, and provides procedures that will take the guesswork out of typical assessment and mental training. It offers tools with which practitioners can reexamine their modus operandi and critically explore the mechanism of interaction outcomes. To this end, the book includes extensive data sets on personality, behavioral tendencies, mind-body responses, and performance outcome. Dr. Carlstedt advocates moving beyond compartmentalized therapeutic sessions in the office to directly observe athletic performance during training and actual competition. The text also contains individual and team case studies to enhance its focus on individualized, efficacy-tested protocols for each individual athlete. Key Features: Presents a detailed client-centered assessment and intervention model grounded in technology-supported, step-by-step procedures, followed by efficacy testing Focuses on the importance of empirical scrutiny and individualized, efficacy-tested protocols for each individual athlete Describes the Carlstedt Protocol containing a visualization efficiency test among many other technologically based assessment and training tools Provides a roadmap for achieving a gold-standard system of accountability Practitioners will learn how to work within Carlstedt's integrative model to improve athlete performance and contribute to the advancement of evidence-based applied sport psychology.
ISBN: 9780826105530Publication Date: 2013-10-01 -
Nutrition in clinical practice : a comprehensive, evidence-based manual for the practitioner
by
ISBN: 9781469887203Publication Date: 2015Third edition.
