LibGuides: History of Ireland IRE185C: Finding Articles

Research Databases

The Axinn Library provides over 200 databases for your research needs. Most of these databases contain scholarly articles. Since Irish Studies is essentially an interdisciplinary area, covering history, literature and culture, many of our databases can be used for your research needs. We have prepared a list of databases that are suggested for your research, but don't limit yourself to only these databases.

Find Journals

Journal Finder
This tool will help you determine if the Axinn Library has access to a specific journal, and whether we own it in print or online.

Axinn Library Databases

Academic One File
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Academic Search Ultimate
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines
America: History and Life
History of United States and Canada pre-history to present. Some full text. Articles, books, dissertations.
CountryWatch
Provides information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, as well as daily news coverage.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward.
JSTOR
Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content. Hofstra subscribes to several JSTOR collections and single titles.
Certain primary source materials are being made temporarily available due to COVID-19 and will be removed by June 30, 2022.
They are:
Global Plants
19th Century British Pamphlets
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
World Heritage Sites: Africa

Hofstra subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through VII, as well as the Life Sciences Collection and JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's and containing over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full-text news, business and legal publications.
Oxford Art Online
Offers access and simultaneous cross-searching to an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove® Art Online, the Benezit® Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Project Muse
A leading provider of humanities and social sciences content; since 1995,

Times of London
Currently scanned pages from 1785 through 1996 are available.

Subject Guide

Margaret Burke

Email Me

Contact:

Axinn Library
Room 902M
margaret.g.burke@hofstra.edu

516-463-6448

Subjects: Drama and Dance, Fine Arts/Art History, Music, Romance Languages and Literatures, Women's Studies

History of Ireland IRE185C: Finding Articles

Research Databases

Find Journals

Axinn Library Databases

Certain primary source materials are being made temporarily available due to COVID-19 and will be removed by June 30, 2022.

Subject Guide