Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WSC002-Montemurro

How to Locate Articles

Searching for Magazine and Journal Articles

The tabs at the top of the Library's Homepage provide three ways to locate materials. Discovery searches most of the library's resources--books, articles, films, etc. To limit your search to books, select Books/eBooFks. Since you are looking for articles, select the Articles  tab.

Using Databases to Locate Article

When you search for articles directly from the Library's homepage, as you saw above, the system searches many of Hofstra's article databases.Sometimes you can get better results by searching individual databases. To do so, click on Browse the A-Z list of databases for a list.

Please note: newspaper articles cannot be found by searching under the Articles tab. Use the following databases for newspaper articles.

Newspaper Articles

New York Times

Newsday (from 2010 until 3 months ago)

Nexis Uni

Full text coverage of many US regional and international newspapers.

OneFile News

Full text access to over 1,000 regional, local and major US newspapers. Also includes transcripts of radio and television broadcasts.

Washington Post

Full text digitized images of the newspaper. Coverage from 2008 to 3 months ago.

Magazine and Journal Article Databases

Here is a list of some databases you might find useful.

Academic Search Ultimate

Includes over 9,000 magazines and journals, much of it full text. Both scholarly and non-scholarly sources, much of it full text.

Business Source Premier

Articles on all business-related topic, including marketing, management, accounting, economics, etc. Both scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals, much of it full text.

Education Full Text

Contains journal articles on topics relating to education--early childhood, K-12 and higher education. Full text coverage dating from 1996.

Health and Medicine

Contains articles on a wide variety of health-related topics, much of it full text.

 

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University