Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Creation & Management
Citation & Style Guides
Link to both print and online citation guides.
Zotero Citation Manager
Zotero is a free software that enables you to collect citations as you do your research. You can build a library of books, articles, websites, mulitmedia files, images, etc., from which you can create in-text citations and reference lists in any of the 1,771 citation styles Zotero currently supports. Once you have established your research collection, Zotero allows you to save, organize, stylize and share your library.
Google Scholar will provide a citation link under items located. This will cite the item found in the most frequently used formats.
Perdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Perdue Online Writing Lab gives detailed information on citation formats. It is also one of the few places that will give you information on how to cite in the text. Type in-text MLA, or in-text APA in the search box to find rules and examples of in-text citation styles.
MLA Handbook Plus Database
MLA Handbook Plus
Modern Language Association's system for documenting sources in scholarly writing.
OneSearch and Database Options for Citing
OneSearch will allow you to cite most items returned immediately (including articles and books) by clicking on the Cite link to the right of the display.
Most Ebsco databases have a citation option, and articles can usually be mailed to yourself from within the databases with a citation included.
Proquest database and JSTOR also have citation options.
You will need to search in the databases to find them. Sometimes citation functions are associated with mailing functions and sometimes they are stand-alone. Not all databases have these options.
Check with a librarian for further information and assistance on how to find and use them.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University