Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases -- Interdisciplinary
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary. Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Dissertations & Theses A&I
Dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.
New York Times current
Provided by LexisNexis, full text coverage is from June 01, 1980 through current. (Abstracts from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980.) Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles.
Full-text of scholarly journals from over 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences.
Databases - Music
Music Index Online
Indexes and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Digitized content from 1970 to present.
Oxford Music Online
Access to multiple music reference resources. Offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
Recent Researches in Music Online
Online access to all titles published in 2018 and later in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions.
The Search box on this website is a bit difficult to find. It is located at the top of the page where you will see a box that says "Search." It could be construed as not part of this site, but it is in fact the Search box.
Guide to publications on music from all over the world; includes records for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University