LibGuides: Music: Home

Who Invented the Piano and Why Was He Forgotten?

JOAN & DONALD E. AXINN LIBRARY

The Axinn Library has a large collection of Reference and Circulating material including books, videos, scores, and periodicals. Reference print resources can be found on the Main Floor adjacent to the Reference Desk; while the circulating collection is on the 6th Floor in the M section, cataloged according to the Library of Congress classification system. Below is a breakdown of music subject areas:

M – music scores

ML – books of literature on music

MT – books of music instruction and study

Getting Started -- Core Music Resources

Music Index Online
Indexes and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Digitized content from 1970 to present.
Naxos Music Library
Offers streaming access to more than 65,000 CDs of standard and rare repertoire. Includes the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 350 classical, jazz and world music labels. The library is constantly growing. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.

In order to access Naxos off-campus via the mobile app, Hofstra users need an activation code. The code is: Hofstra14KYV. This code is required after users are prompted to log-in with their Hofstra credentials.
Oxford Music Online

Access to multiple music reference resources. Offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
Recent Researches in Music Online
Online access to all titles published in 2018 and later in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions.

Note: The Search box on this website is a bit difficult to find. It is located at the top of the page where you will see a box that says "Search." It could be construed as not part of this site, but it is in fact the Search box.
RILM
Guide to publications on music from all over the world; includes records for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

HOFSTRA MUSIC LIBRARY

In addition to the Reference and Circulating Music collections in the Axinn Library, the Music Library's collection of books, scores, periodicals and sound recordings supports the curriculum of the Department of Music and provides material for general use by the Hofstra community. The Music Library is located in Monroe Hall.

Music Library Hours:

Fall and Spring Semesters, Intersessions, and Summer Sessions
Monday - Wednesday*: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday: CLOSED
Friday*: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday - Sunday: CLOSED
(* Closed 12:00 - 1:00 for Lunch Break)