Skip to Main Content

Guest and Alumni Database Access: Home

The licenses for these database permit walk-in use by people who are not Hofstra students, faculty, or staff OR they are open access OR they are part of the New York State Novel program.
Resource Description Subjects
Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Health Sciences/Medicine, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Academic OneFile Select Multidisciplinary. Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines General/Multi-Subject
African Journals Online Provides full text articles from peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. African Studies
America: History and Life Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910. History, Communication Studies, Politics/Government
Alexander Street Press Video Collection Provides access to over 20,000 titles from more than 300 unique content partners including BBC, Bloomberg, Learning, Discovery, CBS, HBO, National Geographic, NBCUniversal, and many more. Subject coverage is broad. Interactive transcripts and closed captioning are available.  
American Periodicals Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century. Consists of works published between 1740 and 1900. Includes journals, general interest magazines, children's publications, civil war periodicals and early professional journals. History
Anthropological Index Index to current periodicals held in the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum. Anthropology, Communication Studies
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts Indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Sociology, Psychology
Art Full Text Includes full-text, indexes and abstracts from hundreds of art periodicals and peer reviewed journals and thousands of art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Communication Studies, Fine Arts/Art History
arXiv.org arXiv.org is an open access database hosted by Cornell University Library and contains e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Natural Sciences/Math, Engineering/Computer Science
ATLA Religion Database produced by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA contains more than 1.7 million bibliographic records of research literature on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Coverage spans from 1949 to the present. Philosophy Religious Studies
bioRXiv.org bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals. Natural Sciences/Math
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States Spanning 2,000 primary source documents related to African American history, from the movement to abolish slavery to the contemporary era, this collection is openly available to anyone interested in U.S. Black history, and the ways the past is reflected in current events. Sociology, African Studies, History
Brooklyn Eagle Digitized version of The Brooklyn Daily Eagle, which was originally published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. History, Communication Studies, News
Business Insights: Essentials Includes business, company, and industry periodical articles, news articles, and press releases. Provides detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, HR Law Case Digests, and PDF reports on the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT) for select companies. Economics, Communication Studies, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Business Source Premier Provides full text, going as far back as 1886, for over two thousand journals, including more than one thousand peer-reviewed titles, in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Economics, Communication Studies, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Cambridge Journals Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market, containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas. History, Psychology, General/Multi-Subject, Politics/Government, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine
Census.gov Statistical information from US census data. Communication Studies
ChemRxiv Operated by the American Chemical Society, ChemRxiv is a free online submission, distribution, and archival service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Natural Sciences/Math
CINAHL Complete provides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Psychology, Health Sciences/Medicine
Communication & Mass Media Complete Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Includes indexes, abstracts and full text. Drama and Dance, Communication Studies, Language/Linguistics
Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. Includes journals and periodicals on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Engineering/Computer Science
Congressional Publications Database of congressional publications and legislative histories. Also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. History, Communication Studies, Politics/Government
CORE Searches open access repositories and journals. Produced in the UK. General/Multi-Subject
CORE, the Open Access Repository for the Humanities Maintained by the Modern Language Association (MLA). It allows you to search and upload material. It provides access to a wide range of materials including datasets, code and software, syllabi as well as a range of other scholarly resources. General/Multi-Subject
Criminal Justice Database Supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Sociology, Psychology
Criminology Collection Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current) National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database (1975 - current) Sociology, Psychology
Dictionary of Literary Biography Comprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics. Literature
Digital Commons Network Makes accessible material from hundreds of libraries and universities worldwide. Includes peer reviewed articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly material may be found here. General/Multi-Subject
Directory of Open Access Journals Freely available full text of scientific and scholarly periodicals. Education/CMC, Economics, Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Geography/Global Studies, Language/Linguistics,Health Sciences/Medicine, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Dissertations & Theses @ Hofstra University Full text of dissertations and theses produced by Hofstra students. Education/CMC, PsychologyGeneral/Multi-Subject, Health Sciences/Medicine
Dissertations & Theses A&I Dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. Education/CMC, Psychology, Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Health Sciences/Medicine
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Literature, Fine Arts/Art History
EarthArXiv A free preprint service for the Earth sciences Natural Sciences/Math, Engineering/Computer Science, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Ebscohost eBook Collection Collection of academic ebooks; includes online reader utility. Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Sustainability/Environmentalism
EconLit Contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present, covering virtually every area related to economics. Economics, Communication Studies, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Education Collection Includes the following databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): Education Database ERIC Education/CMC
Education Database Supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources. Education/CMC
Education Full Text Provides full text of articles from as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Education/CMC, Psychology, Communication Studies
Educator's Reference Complete provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Education/CMC, Counseling, Research, Special Education, and Rehabilitation, Physical Education/Sports Sciences, Health Sciences/Medicine
ERIC Via Proquest Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Education/CMC
ERIC Via EbscoHost The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Education/CMC, Sociology, Communication Studies, Language/Linguistics, Physical Education/Sports Sciences
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 Indexes printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. History
Factiva General news and business articles including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, company profiles, economic reports, and exchange rates.  
Gale eBooks Reference eBooks on wide array of subjects. Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject
General OneFile General interest resource of over 13,000 periodical and news titles. General/Multi-Subject, Health Sciences/Medicine
GeoRef Geosciences index database containing records for journals, books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. Communication Studies, Geography/Global Studies, Natural Sciences/Math, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Google Scholar Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full text provided by Hofstra will appear to those who have been authenticated through the Library's website. Philosophy, Education/CMC, Anthropology, Sociology, Economics, History, Psychology, Religious Studies, Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Geography/Global Studies, Language/Linguistics, Literature, Natural Sciences/Math, Physical Education/Sports Sciences, Politics/Government, Engineering/Computer Science, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine,Library/Information Science, Fine Arts/Art History
GovInfo Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Politics/Government
GreenFILE Environmental database collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Communication Studies, Natural Sciences/Math, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Health and Medicine Articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related videos and multimedia. Communication Studies, Health Sciences/Medicine
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information Physical Education/Sports Sciences, Health Sciences/Medicine
Health Source Consumer Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Offers access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Communication Studies, Physical Education/Sports Sciences, Health Sciences/Medicine
Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, indexing more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History, Politics/Government
Independent Voices Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. News
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Includes over two million bibliographic references to international materials dating back to 1951. Incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Anthropology, Economics, Politics/Government
JSTOR Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content. Hofstra subscribes to several JSTOR collections and single titles. Philosophy, Education/CMC, Anthropology, Sociology, Drama and Dance, History, Music, Religious Studies, Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Geography/Global Studies, Language/Linguistics, Literature, Natural Sciences/Math, Politics/Government, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine, Sustainability/Environmentalism, Fine Arts/Art History
Leiden University Repository: African Studies Centre Contains books, theses, reports. African Studies
Library & Information Science Abstracts international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more. Library/Information Science
Library & Information Science Collection Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): Library and Information Science Abstracts Library Science Database Library/Information Science
Library Literature & Information Science Index Provides indexing of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980. Library/Information Science
Library Science Database Full-text access to a selection of publications relevant to library and information science. It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals. Library/Information Science
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Psychology, Language/Linguistics
Linguistics Collection Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): Linguistics Database Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Language/Linguistics
Linguistics Database Includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Language/Linguistics
LISTA Indexes journals, books, research reports and proceedings in the areas of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back to the mid-1960s. Library/Information Science
Literature Includes 10 Gale literature series, which in all comprise tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. Contemporary Literary Criticism profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism presents the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999. Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism presents overviews of four to eight authors of 1800 through 1899. Shakespeare Criticism includes general and specific critical interpretations from the 17th century to the present. Literature Criticism 1400-1800 includes resource on the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras. Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism provides critical opinion on early literature, Poetry Criticism is a collection of biographical sketches, author portraits, primary bibliographies and much more. Short Story Criticism profiles short story writers of yesterday and today. Drama Criticism features critical opinions, biographical sketches and chronological lists of plays and playwrights. Children’s Literature Review provides critical reviews of the works of the most popular and influential authors of the genre. Literature
Literature Criticism Includes 10 Gale literature series, which in all comprise tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. Contemporary Literary Criticism profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism presents the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999. Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism presents overviews of four to eight authors of 1800 through 1899. Shakespeare Criticism includes general and specific critical interpretations from the 17th century to the present. Literature Criticism 1400-1800 includes resource on the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras. Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism provides critical opinion on early literature, Poetry Criticism is a collection of biographical sketches, author portraits, primary bibliographies and much more. Short Story Criticism profiles short story writers of yesterday and today. Drama Criticism features critical opinions, biographical sketches and chronological lists of plays and playwrights. Children’s Literature Review provides critical reviews of the works of the most popular and influential authors of the genre. Literature
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Education/CMC, Language/Linguistics, Literature
Magill on Literature Plus Includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors. Literature
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information for a complete evaluation of test products within such areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Education/CMC, Psychology
Military & Government Collection Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database. Includes periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Communication Studies, Politics/Government,Health Sciences/Medicine
MLA International Bibliography Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's and containing over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Language/Linguistics, Literature
Music Index Online Indexes and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Digitized content from 1970 to present. Music
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research. Sociology, Psychology
Newsday Historical Coverage from 1940 to 1994. History, Communication Studies, News
Newsday Recent Coverage: 2010 - recent (3-month embargo). General/Multi-Subject, News
Newspaper Source Full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Communication Studies, News
New York Times (Gale) Full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985) Communication Studies, News
New York Times Historical Coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year. History, News, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Nexis Uni Provides access to full-text news, business and legal publications. Education/CMC, Economics, Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject,Geography/Global Studies, News, Politics/Government, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
OAIster Maintained by OCLA (WorldCat), this site describes itself as a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources. The collection includes more than journal and book items. Dissertations, archival and other scholarly material may also be found here. To search use Searching OAIster Only Records.  
OneFile News A full-text newspaper resource providing access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Communication Studies, News
OneSearch    
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This is a centralized search engine for the growing number of institutional repositories of open-access theses and dissertations. It is international in scope. General/Multi-Subject
OpenDissertations Open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.  
OpenDOAR The Directory of Open Access Repositories. Maintained by the Centre for Research Communication in the UK. It also maintains a list of institutional repositories.  
Oxford Academic Journals Includes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. From the Oxford University Press. Philosophy, Economics, Religious Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Geography/Global Studies, Language/Linguistics, Literature, Natural Sciences/Math, Physical Education/Sports Sciences, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine, Sustainability/Environmentalism
PAIS Index Includes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages. PAIS Archive includes monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Content relates to public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate. Sociology, Economics, History, General/Multi-Subject, Politics/Government
Paperity A multidisciplinary aggregation of Open Access journals & papers. Free full text PDF articles from hundreds of disciplines. General/Multi-Subject
Philosopher`s Index Bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. Philosophy, Religious Studies
PILOTS Bibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Incluldes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Psychology, Communication Studies, Health Sciences/Medicine
Plunkett Research Industry data. Includes industry analysis, market research, company profiles, industry statistics, industry contacts, industry glossaries. Also offers the full-text of Plunkett's industry almanacs. Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Policy File Index Web-based resource for information on public policy issues with indexing and linking to the output of over 350 think tanks and similar organizations. General/Multi-Subject
Political Science Database Includes over 140 leading political science and international relations journals. Politics/Government
Politics Collection Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): PAIS Index Policy File Index Political Science Database Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Sociology, African Studies, Economics, History, General/Multi-Subject, Politics/Government
PQDT Open Open access theses and dissertations  
Professional Development Collection A collection of over 500 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Education/CMC, Psychology
Proquest Databases Individual ProQuest databases can be found alphabetically under the resource title without the "ProQuest" prefix. Alternatively, view the full list of ProQuest databases by clicking on this link or selecting ProQuest from the "Vendors/Providers" drop-down menu at the top of the page.  
PsycARTICLES Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present. Education/CMC, Psychology, Language/Linguistics, Health Sciences/Medicine
PsycINFO Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present. Education/CMC, Psychology, Communication Studies, Language/Linguistics, Health Sciences/Medicine
PTPBio Journal A peer-reviewed open-access online journal that brings together philosophers of science and theoretically inclined biologists to interact across disciplinary boundaries. Natural Sciences/Math
Publicly Available Content Database Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports. General/Multi-Subject
PubMed/Medline Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Communication Studies, Natural Sciences/Math, Health Sciences/Medicine
Pubmed Central Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Communication Studies, Natural Sciences/Math, Health Sciences/Medicine
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature Index of over 700 selected periodicals (mostly scholarly) acquired from 29 African countries. Date range is from 1991-2011. The QIAPL indexing project closed as of 2012.  
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. Religious Studies
Regional Business News Full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Communication Studies, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
RILM Guide to publications on music from all over the world; includes records for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. Music
Sage Journals Online Full text of journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. Education/CMC, Anthropology, Sociology, Economics, Psychology, Communication Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Language/Linguistics, Natural Sciences/Math, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine
Science.gov Includes over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Natural Sciences/Math
ScienceDirect Full-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science. Philosophy, Education/CMC, Anthropology, Sociology, Economics, Psychology, Religious Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Geography/Global Studies, Language/Linguistics, Natural Sciences/Math, Physical Education/Sports Sciences, Engineering/Computer Science, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine, Library/Information Science, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Serials Directory Provides bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.  
Social Science Database Provides indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journalsacross a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Anthropology, Sociology, Economics, Psychology, Politics/Government
Social Services Abstracts Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes journal articles, dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Education/CMC, Sociology
Sociological Abstracts Provides abstracts and indexes of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes journal articles, citations to book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Sociology, African Studies, Sustainability/Environmentalism
Sociology Collection Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): Sociological Abstracts Sociology Database Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) Sociology
Sociology Database International literature in sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. Sociology, Psychology
SPORTDiscus Bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. Contains records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, as well as dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Education/CMC, Sociology, Physical Education/Sports Sciences
Springer Journals Database of journals in the areas of behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & materials science, computer sciences, earth & environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics & statistics, clinical medicine, physics and astronomy. Includes full text. Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, General/Multi-Subject, Natural Sciences/Math, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing, Health Sciences/Medicine
Statistical Insight Tables selected from hundreds of US government and business reports, from 1999 to the present. Sociology, Economics, Communication Studies, Politics/Government
Teacher Reference Center Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Education/CMC
Ulrich`s Provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types and subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.  
UNData Pools major UN databases and those of several international into one single internet environment. The databases, tables and glossaries cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Economics, Communication Studies, Geography/Global Studies,Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
USAFacts An integrated look at revenue and spending across federal, state and local governments Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Washington Post Recent The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent (3-month embargo). History, General/Multi-Subject, News, Accounting/Business/Finance/Marketing
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. African Studies, Politics/Government
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University