English Subject Guide: Finding Articles

Check the easy-to-use interactive Library Basics Tutorial to find out what we have, where to find it, how to access it, and what services we offer you.

NEED HELP?

• Visit us at the Reference Desk on the main floor of Axinn Library
• Call the Reference Desk: 516 463-5962
• Use the buttons below to quickly type us a question or chat with a librarian

Ann Grafstein, M.L.S, Ph.D.
Professor of Library Services
902H Axinn Library
516-463-5052
ann.grafstein@hofstra.edu

Contact me by phone or email. Click on the button below to arrange an appointment during a scheduled time slot.

Axinn Library provides access to a wide variety of articles in scholarly journals, non-scholarly magazines and newspapers. Click on View full text to access the article.For a general article search, type in keywords into the search bar under the Articles tab on the Library's homepage.

Some of our databases focus more narrowly on subject areas. To find them, click on the link next to Browse our full list of online databases. Select from the alphabetical list. Blow are some databases that are useful for literary research.

• Dictionary of Literary Biography
  Contains over 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of important literary figures from all eras and genres. The entries have been scanned in from the classic prin source, so each one looks exactly like the printed entry.

• JSTOR
  Contains the full text of scholarly articles and books on a variety of topics, including literary criticism and book reviews. JSOTR goes back to the first issue of every journal included in its collection, but it does not include issues from the last two to five years.

• Literature Criticism Online
  A full text digitized version of almost the entire Gale Publishing Company's well-known reference sets on literary works and authors. Students are the primary audience for this database.

• Literature Resource Center
  Contains a large portion of the many printed Gale reference sets on authors, literature, literary periods and genres. Use this database for finding biographical information, the full text of journal articles containing literary criticism, and reviews of literary works. You can also use this resource to find work overviews that give descriptions of the work, its historical context, plot summaries, and descriptions of the characters.

• MLA International Bibliography
  Includes articles on literary criticism and language. It is not full text, so you will need to click on the  link to help you try to locate the full text in another Hofstra database. If you cannot access the full text, you may request it from Interlibrary Loan.

• New York Review of Books
  Contains the full text of in-depth book reviews on a variety of topics, including fiction and literary criticism.

• Project MUSE
  Contains the full text of scholarly journals and books. It is a good source for literary criticism and book reviews.

• SAGE Journals
  Provides the full text to articles in journals published by SAGE, a reputable publishing company.

Use the widget below to start searching Google Scholar. Google Scholar includes references to a wide variety of articles. Full text is only available for articles that Hofstra has access to (those we subscribe to or are available in our databases) and to those that freely-available. If you want an article that Hofstra does not have access to, you can request it from Interlibrary Loan.