Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Before starting your search, prepare the following:
- Refine your research question (view the Evidence Based Medicine tab for additional information)
- Identify which database you want to search
- Identify the major topics within your research question and make a list of key terms and synonyms for them
- Using the key terms you identified, create a search strategy using Boolean operators
- Identify limits/filters that you may want to apply (e.g. language, publication date, etc.)
Basics of Searching
- Capitalization does not matter.
- In most cases, keyword order does not matter. The exception to this is if you are creating a complex strategy that contains parentheses.
- You can use parentheses to build a search with a combination of Boolean Operators. The LibGuide from the Library at the University of Hawaii at Manoa provides a great explanation of using parentheses.
- Do not use conjunctions.
- Enclose keywords in quotation marks if you want them to be considered as a phrase.
- Use Boolean operators to create a relationship between your keywords
- AND - Tells the database to find a reference that contains all of the terms
- OR - Tells the database to find a reference that contains either of the terms
- NOT - Tells the database to find a reference that does not contain a particular term(s)
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University