Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOM Literature Searching: Mesh

PubMed Tutorials

The following user guide links will assist you in performing a search in the new PubMed platform. For highlights of the new PubMed, visit: https://youtu.be/O0Dg8eGfeRg

My NCBI is a feature of the NCBI databases that allows you to save records and searches, and customize your results display with filters and other options. Click here to register for an account. Please make sure that you remember the username and password, as the Library does not have access to that information.

Mesh Database

Use the Mesh database to search for Mesh terms. The database also contains subheadings, publication types, supplementary concepts, and pharmacological actions. Click the MeSH Database link from the PubMed homepage to access the database.

                             

Mesh

What is Mesh?

  • MeSH is short for Medical Subject Headings
  • Controlled vocabulary words to index articles for PubMed
  • A link to the searchable MeSH database is available on the PubMed home page
  • Most MeSH records have a description, subheadings, entry terms, and MeSH tree

Potential Problems with Mesh

  • MeSH term is too broad/narrow
  • MeSH term does not exist
  • MeSH term is not categorized correctly
  • Only using MeSH terms will not capture newly added articles
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University