LibGuides: Disabilities and Special Education: Find Articles

Databases for Special Education

Below is a list of databases appropriate for education research. Some databases are multi-disiplinary. Click on the title of the database for access, but be prepared to login. You may also login to the databases through your Hofstra Portal.

TO ACCESS THESE DATABASES. Click here: Research Databases. The databases are alphabetically listed. Click on the title of the database you wish to search. You will be prompted to login.

When you find an article that you would like to retrieve, click the icon to get the full text.

A document with more explicit directions is below.

ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text of articles from as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Full text of journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Education Collection This link opens in a new window Includes the following databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below): Education Database ERIC
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Education Database: Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
- ERIC: Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs

Finding Articles
A printable tutorial on how to search the databases to find articles.

Subject Guide

Annmarie Boyle

Email Me

Contact:

Axinn Library

516.463.6529

Subjects: Accounting, Taxation, and Business Law, Communication Studies, Counseling, Research, Special Education, and Rehabilitation, Education/CMC, Engineering/Computer Science, Film/Media Collections, Finance, Foundations, Leadership and Policy Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Google Scholar, Health Sciences/Medicine, International Students, Library/Information Science, Marketing and International Business, Middle Eastern Studies, Open Access, Speech Communication and Rhetorical Studies, Speech-Language-Hearing