More Resources on Abstract Writing - Northwell/ZSOM Advancing ERSD - Putting It All Together (PIAT): The Art of Writing for Dissemination

Writing An Abstract Article

From The Clinical Teacher: How To Write An Abstract
Click on this link to enjoy access to the free full-text of this October 2023 open access "How To" article by Danica Sims.

MedEd Portal Curriculum

Structured Abstracts: Best Practices in Writing and Reviewing Abstracts for Publication and Presentation
This open access, experiential educational intervention teaches best practices in writing and peer reviewing scientific abstracts and affords students the opportunity to practice drafting and evaluating abstracts on their own research projects.

Reporting Guidelines for Specific Types of Abstracts

Some types of research have specific requirements that should be met when reporting the abstract. Check out the abstract reporting guidelines below:

CONSORT for reporting randomised trials in journal and conference abstracts. Lancet. 2008
STARD for Abstracts: essential items for reporting diagnostic accuracy studies in journal or conference abstracts. BMJ. 2017
The Strengthening the Reporting of Observational Studies in Epidemiology (STROBE) statement: guidelines for reporting observational studies. J Clin Epidemiol. 2008
The PRISMA 2020 extension for Abstracts Reporting Systematic Reviews
The PRISMA 2020 extension for Abstracts was published within the main PRISMA 2020 paper. The 12-item checklist gives authors a framework for condensing their systematic review into the essentials for a journal of conference abstract that will meet the needs of many readers.
Preferred reporting items for journal and conference abstracts of systematic reviews and meta-analyses of diagnostic test accuracy studies (PRISMA-DTA for Abstracts) BMJ. 2021
Want to know if there are abstract reporting guidelines for your work not listed here?
Search the equator network by clicking on the link above for reporting guidelines of any type of research or scientific report.

Insight from Abstract Reviewers

Take a look at what conference abstract and journal editors have to say about the abstract reviewing experience - and learn from the experts!

Preparing an Abstract

Check out this iLearn! Prepared for you by Dr. Fornari, Stacy Posillico, and Kelly Conlon, Director of GME for the Eastern Region, this 30 minute online course will provide a richer exploration of the concepts covered in the live session class.

Flyer for iLearn Course
Click here to download the flyer and access the video via iLearn.

Preparation of a Professional Abstract Video - NOT iLearn
Please do not share with anyone outside of the Northwell Health team.

Key Articles That Provide Abstract Writing Guidance from Journals

These articles offer insightful and useful guidance on writing your abstract directly from prominent journals themselves. Take a look!

Northwell/ZSOM Advancing ERSD - Putting It All Together (PIAT): The Art of Writing for Dissemination: More Resources on Abstract Writing

Resources Shared After Class No.2: Additional Resources for Writing an Effective Abstract