Skip to main content

Curriculum Materials Center: Home

Welcome!

The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) collection consists primarily of materials for pre or in-service teachers and counselors of the grades pre-K to 12.  All academic subjects taught in public schools are covered (Science, Math, English, Social Studies, Spanish, Music, Art, Phys. Ed, Health and ESL) including electives such as Calculus, Forensics and foreign languages.  Materials in the following formats are available for most of these subject areas.

Formats:

  • Teachers' editions of textbooks
  • Models, manipulatives and realia
  • Games, including a psycho/socio-educational games collection
  • Software
  • Reference works
  • Journals
  • Children's literature and poetry, including Big Books and non-fiction
  • Videos and DVDs

The CMC has a professional collection on education topics such as teaching strategies, special education issues, leadership in education, etc.  To find research materials for your college courses generally, visit the Axinn Library collection.  If you are unsure where to begin your research or find materials for your assignments, you may always ask a librarian.

The CMC is being renewed and will be located on the ground floor of Axinn Library.  For the interim, please go to the Axinn Reference Desk on the main floor for assistance with locating materials and to ask reference questions and obtain research assistance.  All CMC reference questions can be answered at the Axinn Library reference desk on the main floor of the Axinn Library.  Please visit us or call 516-463-5962.

NYS Common Core Curriculum: Pre-K thru Grade 12

Access here: https://www.engageny.org/common-core-curriculum

"In order to assist educators with the implementation of the Common Core, the New York State Education Department provides curricular modules in P-12 English Language Arts and Mathematics that schools and districts can adopt or adapt for local purposes."

This resource lists/links the curriculum (curricular maps, learning strands, etc.) for all grade levels in English Language Arts and Mathematics:

  • English Language Arts: Prekindergarten English Language Arts, Kindergarten English Language Arts, Grade 1 – 12 English Language Arts
  • Mathematics: Prekindergarten Mathematics, Kindergarten Mathematics, Grade 1 – 8 Mathematics, Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Precalculus and Advanced Topics

NYS Common Core Curriculum: Standards for Social Studies K-12

Access here: https://www.engageny.org/resource/new-york-state-k-12-social-studies-resource-toolkit

"The approval of the New York State K–12 Social Studies Framework in April 2014 by the Board of Regents set in motion a series of efforts designed to define and support the best in social studies teaching and learning. The New York State K–12 Social Studies Toolkit and Professional Development Project (the Toolkit), which focuses on curriculum writing resources and the professional development of teachers, is an important step in building on the foundation of the framework."  Read the full document linked below for further information on this framework.

The boxes to below labeled, Search C3 Took Kits - Social Studies Standards K-12 and C3 - IDM Generator provide more information about and access to the Inquiry Design Model and Social Studies Standards described in the document linked below.

Search C3 Took Kits - Social Studies Standards K-12

Access more information here: http://www.c3teachers.org/inquiries/

"The Inquiry Design Model (IDM) is a distinctive approach to creating curriculum and instructional materials that honors teachers’ knowledge and expertise, avoids over prescription, and focuses on the main elements of the instructional design process as envisioned in the Inquiry Arc of the College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework for Social Studies State Standards (2013). Unique to the IDM is the blueprint, a one-page representation of the questions, tasks, and sources that define a curricular inquiry."

C3 - IDM Generator

Access information here: http://www.c3teachers.org/generator/ 

Access login screen here: http://idm.c3teachers.org/login

"The IDM Generator (online at http://idm.c3teachers.org) is a platform for teachers to develop interactive inquiries that can then be completed online by students. The Generator supports teachers to create their own inquiries, share those inquiries with other teachers, and make inquiry assignments for their students to complete. The easy to use, web-based interface enables students to inquire about compelling questions, access disciplinary sources, and complete formative and summative tasks and exercises in taking informed action. Teachers can create class accounts and produce a unique web address for students to complete an assignment online."

Research Assistance

CHAT! Make a research appointment! Ask us!  Click on this graphic to:

  Chat with a librarian during reference hours.
  Make a research appointment to meet with a reference librarian.
  Search our database of reference questions.
  Email us your reference question.  We'll get back to you ASAP!

Please call the reference desk at 516-463-5962 to speak with a reference librarian during reference hours.
You can see the library hours here: https://libguides.hofstra.edu/hulhours 

Locations of CMC Materials - Click on the tab that covers your call number for location info.

CMC items with call numbers beginning with A through PZ-6 are on the Ground floor.  Please ask at the Axinn Reference Desk on the main floor or the Periodicals Service Desk on the ground floor for assistance.

CMC items with call numbers beginning with PZ7.A through PZ7.K82 are on the 7th floor.  Please ask at the Axinn Reference Desk on the main floor for assistance.

CMC items with call numbers beginning with PZ7.K83 through PZ7.W88 are on the 8th floor. Please ask at the Axinn Reference Desk on the main floor for assistance.

CMC items with call numbers beginning with PZ7.W93 through PZ7.Z8 are on the Ground floor.  Please ask at the Axinn Reference Desk on the main floor or the Periodicals Service Desk on the ground floor for assistance.

Loading ...

Education Research Resources

The following bibliographies will get you started using the materials of the CMC to teach concepts and subjects on various grade levels.

Loading ...

Useful Services and Resources

Loading ...

Support for Graduate Students

Access the Graduate Student Guide to the University Libraries here: http://libguides.hofstra.edu/GradStudents 

Access instructions for submitting theses and dissertations here: https://www.hofstra.edu/library/library_libaxn_td_submit.html 

"Testing Requirements for New York State Certification: New York State candidates for a first Initial teaching certificate in most certificate areas must achieve passing scores on the Educating All Students (EAS) test, edTPA, and the Content Specialty Test(s) (CST) in their area of certification."  

You will find preparation materials for the following tests on the page linked above: 

  • Tests:
    • Educating All Students (EAS)
    • Content Specialty Tests (CSTs)
    • Elementary Assessment of Teaching Skills—Written (ATS–W)
    • Secondary Assessment of Teaching Skills—Written (ATS–W)
    • Communication and Quantitative Skills Test (CQST)
    • Bilingual Education Assessments (BEAs)
    • Safety Net Tests
    • Assessment of Teaching Assistant Skills (ATAS)
  • School Leadership Tests:
    • School Building Leader
    • School Building Leader
    • School District Leader
    • School District Business Leader
Loading ...

Global Literacy

  • Worlds of Words (WOW) - Globalizing the Common Core Exemplar List:
    https://wowlit.org/links/globalizing-common-core-reading-list/
  • WOW Language and Culture Kits (available for download):
    https://wowlit.org/links/booklists/
    • Arabic-Speaking Countries & Cultures Book & Resource List
    • Mandarin/China Language and Culture Kit Book List
    • Japanese/Japan Language and Culture Kit Book List
    • Hangul/Korea Language and Culture Kit Book List
    • Portuguese/Brazil Language and Culture Kit Book List
    • Spanish/Mexico Language and Culture Kit
    • Hopi & Navajo/American Indians of the Southwest Language and Culture Kit
    • Spanish/Chile & Peru Language and Culture Kit
    • American Sign Language/Deaf Culture Language and Culture Kit
    • Dinka/East Africa Language and Culture Kit
    • Finnish/Finland Language and Culture Kit
    • Hindi/India Language and Culture Kit
    • Nepali/Nepal & Bhutan Language and Culture Kit
    • Maori/New Zealand Language and Culture Kit
    • Russian/Russia Language and Culture Kit
  • WOW Thematic Lists (available for download):
    https://wowlit.org/links/booklists/
    • Refugee Experience in Literature
    • Paired Book Picture Book Sets
    • Family Story Backpacks
    • Kids Taking Action


This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University