Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Master of Arts in Math, Science and Technology Education: Find Articles

Guide to Finding Full Text of Articles

Looking for Full Text?

There is almost always a solution to finding full text of an article.  Follow the steps listed below to find full text.

  • If an article is available full text in a database there will be an either an "HTML"  or 'PDF" or "Linked Full Text" icon. Either of these will give you full text of the article. The difference is that the PDF is the version of the article as it appears in the journal originally (including the graphics)
  • When you find an abstract (summary of an article) in a database and there are none of the above icons, click on  "Check Journal Finder".
  • If we have the Journal in another database "Journal Finder" will take you to the list of choices of where the journal can be found. Click on either "article" for direct access to the article or "journal" or the name of the database to get to the search page of the database.
  • If we do not have the Journal click on the link for Interlibrary loan, where we can get the article for you.

 


Tips for success when using databases

Using EBSCO databases

EBSCO is a vendor of many of our databases. While we don't suggest you limit your search, especially when working on your dissertation, to just EBSCO databases there are some nice features of these databases that may help you do  your research.

  • First all databases sold by EBSCO are searchable simultaneously. So if you log onto any databases provided by them such as ERIC or Academic Search Complete you may also search other EBSCO databases such as the Professional Development Collection or PsychArticles.  To do this type of searching click on "Choose Databases"
  • To find peer-reviewed articles only there is a box you can check to limit your search. You may want to use this feature sparingly when doing your literature review for a dissertation.
  • To save any articles/citations that you may have found but aren't ready to print out you can create an EBSCO account by clicking on "My EBSCO". This account will also allow you to save your searches (thus your search strategy)

 

 

 

 

 

Databases for Education Research

Below is a list of databases appropriate for education research. Some databases are multidisplinary. Click on the title of the database for access, but be prepared to login. You may also login to the databases through your Hofstra Portal. For subject specific databases ie. History, English, Science  see those topics under    Research Databases


*The databases will direct you to where you may find your article either online or in print*

 

If you need further help view the tutorial at the end of this page, on how to use EBSCO (such as ERIC and Academic Search Complete) databases.

 

Academic Search Complete
Full text, multi-disciplinary database containing scholarly, peer-reviewed publications. Also contains indexing and abstracting for all journals in the collection.

Current Research @ Hofstra University
Full text of Hofstra University doctoral dissertations from 1991 to present.

Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1845 journals in the directory. Currently 456 journals are searchable at article level. More than 79,582 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.

Education Full Text
Indexes 563 journals in the field of education with coverage starting as early as 1983. Full text for 271 of these journals with coverage starting as early as1996.

Electronic Journal Service
Index to thousands of journals on a wide variety of subjects with tables of contents. Includes full text articles for over 500 Hofstra journal subscriptions.

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Established in 1966, the database consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from hundreds of professional journals. In recent years, ERIC has undergone considerable change. The operation of the database has become more streamlined and far more articles as well as recent ERIC documents are available full text.

JSTOR
Full text collection of scholarly journals. Hofstra licenses include: Arts & Sciences I, II, and III, IV, and Complement; Business II; Ecology & Botany; Health and General Sciences collections.

LexisNexis Academic
Full text interdisciplinary database with international coverage.

LISTA
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks (editions 9-16 only).

New York Times (current)
Full text of the New York Times through Lexis-Nexis from June 1, 1980 through current.

Oxford Journals Online

Physical Education Index
Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Abstracts included beginning in 2001.

Professional Development Collection
Indexes over 700 education titles. Provides full-text for over 550 titles. A highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers. This collection includes full text for such journals as the Chronicle of Higher Education, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Higher Education, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and Theory Into Practice. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.

PsycARTICLES
Full text of 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

ScienceDirect
Database of over 1,800 journals in many disciplines. Full-text available for Hofstra University subscriptions.

UNData
Wide variety of statistics offered by the United Nations.

Newspapers

National Newspapers

New York Review of Books

New York State Newspapers

New York Times (current)

New York Times Historical

Newsday

Newspaper Source

Subject Guide

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University