Consumer Health Information

High-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.

As you grow older, you go through many changes, and you may need to adjust your lifestyle for healthy aging. Healthy eating and regular physical activity can be keys to good health at any age. Making suitable lifestyle choices may also prevent some health problems, such as diabetes, heart disease, and some cancers.

Information from the CDC regarding a variety of older health topics, such as hypertension, obesity, mortality, and care centers.

HealthinAging.org is the American Society of Gerontology's Health in Aging Foundation’s (HiAF) public education portal, providing older adults and caregivers with up-to-date information on health and aging—as well as access to a network of geriatrics healthcare professionals.

This collection features the best content from American Family Physician, the journal of the American Academy of Family Physicians, on geriatric care and related issues, including assistive devices, elder mistreatment, failure to thrive, fall prevention, geriatric assessment, house calls, impaired visual acuity, and nursing home care.

AARP has joined with Senior Planet and OATS (Older Adults Technology Services). Their courses, programs, and activities help seniors learn new skills, save money, get in shape, and make new friends.

The National Resource Center on LGBT Aging is the country's first and only technical assistance resource center aimed at improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) older adults.

Constituency-based organization that advocates, celebrates, and enhances the quality of life for Hispanic older adults, their families, and their communities.

Connects today’s 55+ with the people and organizations that need them most.

Multiple HHS agencies provide programs that improve the well-being of seniors. Learn more about programs for seniors and locate resources.

Resources that support the activities and independence of aging New Yorkers. Provides information on access to services with in the NYS area.

The NHTSA's Older Adult section provides information on how aging can affect driving and what you can do to continue driving safely as you age, such as adapting a vehicle to meet specific needs.

This site from the American Automobile Association (AAA) Foundation for Traffic Safety links seniors to tools for assessing their driving skills; it also offers advice, exercises, and lessons to help them drive safely for as long as possible. Alternatives for seniors who can no longer drive safely are provided, and there is a database of relevant state regulations.

Resources for older drivers, their families, and their caregivers.

As adults age, gradual losses in their hearing, vision, reflexes, and flexibility put older pedestrians at risk.

Learn more about the different factors that can affect driving with age and signs of when it may be time to stop driving. Resources for caregivers.

From New York State: Drive Safely by Using the Right Supports

Use the free self-rating tool to evaluate your driving ability. Access other resources to plan safe transportation and improve driving skills.

The Eldercare Locator is a nationwide service that connects older Americans and their caregivers with trustworthy local support resources (meals, home care, transportation, caregiver needs). It is a public service of the Administration on Aging (AoA), an agency of the U.S. Administration for Community Living. Caregiver Corner provides helpful links and resources for caregivers.

The National Council on Aging (NCOA) was founded in 1950 as the first charitable organization in the U.S. that would provide a national voice for older Americans and act as their advocates in dealing with service providers and policymakers. NCOA provides information on being a caregiver and taking care of yourself as a caregiver.

Provides resource and information specifically on mental health issues in seniors. Topics include anxiety, depression, medications, eating disorders, suicide, and warning signs.

Provides resources on a variety of topics including, resources for seniors affected by COVID-19, financial resources, legal resources, physical health, vision, psychological help, quality of life, etc.

A large, comprehensive source of long term care planning material. Also includes resources for senior services and veteran benefits.

A first-of-its-kind, state-by-state, online guide to help families in all 50 states locate government, nonprofit, and private caregiver support programs.

For caregivers of parents, and other older adults. Provides information on most common health issues, as financial concerns, housing options, ansd more.

Information, services and support for caregivers and families, Offers fact sheets in English, Spanish and Chinese on various conditions. As an advocacy group it also offers statistics, public policy and reports. It includes caregiver advice and tips (also in Spanish and Chinese) and hosts online discussion groups.

Supportive programming, services, and caregiver support.

CaringKind* is New York City’s leading expert on Alzheimer’s and dementia caregiving. Provides a helpline staffed with Dementia Specialists; individual and family consultations; a vast network of support groups; education programs; early stage services and a wanderer’s safety program.

The ElderCare Resource Center, Inc. exists to be the community resource for support, answers and expertise in regard to advance planning and informed decision making about present and future long term health care. The Resource Center offers over 200 books and brochures, a website with over 2,000 links

Consider older adults' unique nutrition needs and review meal planning tips and sample recipes.

Every month, we deliver up to 8,000 free 35-pound food boxes to seniors across Long Island who need a little extra help.

This downloadable guide can help you learn about the many health benefits of exercise and physical activity.

Directory of senior communities, living space and care centers, base on the individual's specific needs.

NY Connects provides free, unbiased information about long term services and supports in New York State for people of all ages or with any type of disability.

The Town of North Hempstead is proud to partner with your local licensed taxi companies to offer free rides for food shopping and discounted rides for medical visits. These rides are available for senior jdesena2024residents 60+, and disabled residents 21+ who qualify.

Able-Ride is a shared-ride, door to door, paratransit bus service for people with disabilities. It’s transportation for those unable to use fixed route bus service.