HUHC 012 C&E Social Sciences

Use DISCOVERY to locate primary source materials.  Click on the Books/eBooks tab to start.

Use the following databases to locate primary materials

Reveal Digital offers six collections of open-access primary source materials from libraries, museums, historical societies and individual collectors. 

• American Prison Newspapers
• Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements
• Black Periodicals: From the Great Migration Through Black Power
• HIV, AIDS & the Arts
• Independent Voices
• Student Activism

"Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students."

You might want to visit libraries which have collections of manuscripts, papers, organizational records, ephemera or other unpublished materials relating to the people, organizations and agencies involved in the events.  These are often original, one-of-a-kind materials.  Click on the link above for Hofstra University's Special Collections department.

Salem Press Reference Shelf includes selected editions from the Defining Documents in American History series, Defining Documents in World History series, and Milestone Documents series.