Northwell/SOM COVID-19 Resource Center: Clinical Training, Guidelines, & Standards

AACN Procedure Manual: COVID-19 Resources The American Association of Critical Care Nurses offers free access to segments of its Procedure Manual regarding clinical care for COVID-19 patients. This resource guides you through procedures unique to the adult progressive and critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in a step-by-step format.

AACN COVID-19 Response Webinar Series View on demand webinars from the AACN regarding the nursing response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

AORN Perioperative Care of the COVID-19 Patient Guideline This guide, written by AORN’s Guideline authors, provides comprehensive evidence-based information for facilities and perioperative teams to operationalize and implement interventions necessary for safe care of COVID-19 patients. YOU MUST BE AT A NORTHWELL DESKTOP OR ACCESSING EMIL VIA MYREMOTEACCESS TO VIEW.

Elsevier COVID-19 Toolkits for Health Professionals Frequently updated front-line clinical tools and resources to help deliver excellent care and information to COVID-19 patients. Toolkits available for ICU, Inpatient Care, Mental & Behavioral Health, Physical Rehabilitation, Emergency Care, Ambulatory Care, and Community Care.

Emergency Nurses Association COVID-19 Resource Center ENA has dedicated this page to collect the most relevant, up-to-date news as well as valuable resources regarding COVID-19.

JBI Evidence-Based Resources for COVID-19 The JBI COVID-19 Special Collection provides health professionals and health organisations with free access to premier evidence-based point of care resources to inform and guide healthcare decision making with a focus on infection prevention and control measures, and mental health and well- being.

Joint Commission COVID-19 Resource Center The Joint Commission's website for all statements and guidance related to COVID-19 clinical care in the hospitals.

Lippincott 2019 Novel Coronavirus: COVID-19 Resource Center A collection of web-based free resources from the Lippincott Nursing Center.

OSHA COVID-19 Guidance OSHA's website for all statements and guidance related to employees working during the COVID-19 pandemic.

ACEP COVID-19 CME Course Collection The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) has created a free CME collection to help you manage COVID-19 patients while earning 3.5 credits. The bundle includes five lectures designed to help participants manage patients in the ED who present with symptoms related to COVID-19. Free access requires registration for a user account.

Elsevier COVID-19 Toolkits for Healthcare Professionals Frequently updated front-line clinical tools and resources to help deliver excellent care and information to COVID-19 patients. Toolkits available for ICU, Inpatient Care, Mental & Behavioral Health, Physical Rehabilitation, Emergency Care, Ambulatory Care, and Community Care.

Joint Commission COVID-19 Resource Center The Joint Commission's website for all statements and guidance related to COVID-19 clinical care in the hospitals.

The Medical Letter - Treatments Considered for COVID-19 Updated frequently, this free resource from The Medical Letter lists pertinent evidence on the clinical effectiveness and safety of some drugs and other therapies being considered for COVID-19. Inclusion in this table is not a recommendation for use for treatment of COVID-19.

NEJM Group Covid-19 Rx: Treatment Simulations Created by the NEJM Group, these online simulations, which are free to explore, simulate triage of several patients with COVID-19 presenting in the ER. Once in the patient room, the learner's task is to gather data, develop a differential diagnosis, order additional diagnostic tests, and treat the patient. Patient and disease factors and the choice and timing of treatments will impact the outcome of the illness, and the outcomes change with repeated simulation encounters.

NEJM COVID-19 Primer Online Course This educational primer, authored by the NEJM Group, is meant to introduce new internal medicine and other providers to some of the basic concepts of managing floor patients suspected or confirmed of having COVID-19.

OSHA COVID-19 Guidance OSHA's website for all statements and guidance related to employees working during the COVID-19 pandemic.

SCCM's Critical Care for Non-ICU Clinicians Learning Modules Access the Society of Critical Care Medicine's (SCCM) complimentary online training, Critical Care for Non-ICU Clinicians. SCCM and its members are committed to supporting all clinicians on the front lines of this pandemic. Registration for free account required to access resources. Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician SCCM's Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician provides online education to healthcare professionals who could benefit from critical care training. Be prepared with these free resources.

SHM Critical Care For The Hospitalist: Pulmonary CE Courses *FREE* *FREE ONLY UNTIL JAN 2021* The Society for Hospital Medicine is offering the following online CE courses for physicians: Critical Care in COVID-19; Mechanical Ventilation Part I: The Basics; Mechanical Ventilation Part II: Beyond the Basics; Mechanical Ventilation Part III: ARDS; and Tracheostomy Management for the Hospitalist. You must register for an account to take the courses.

AANP COVID-19 Recommendations for Nurse Practitioners The American Association of Nurse Practitioners® (AANP) is committed to providing members with up-to-date clinical and policy resources and information related to the COVID-19 pandemic and National Emergency Declaration.

AAPA COVID-19 Resource Center for Physician Assistants Physician Assistants are a vital part of the response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) will be adding new tools and resources to this page to help PAs continue to practice medicine safely and effectively, while keeping their own health in mind.

APTA Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources for the Physical Therapy Profession The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) is curating critical advice from trusted sources such as the CDC and CMS in addition to developing resources to support you during the pandemic available at this resource.

ASHA Coronavirus/COVID-19 Updates The American Speech Language Hearing Association has collated all of its COVID-19 resources for speech and hearing clinicians at this site.

ASHA Telepractice Resources During COVID-19 The American Speech Language Hearing Association (ASHA) is providing telepractice resources that are updated as new information becomes available during the current coronavirus/COVID-19 situation.

American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) American Society for Radiation Oncology ASTRO has compiled a selection of resources for radiation oncology professionals. They are not meant to replace clinical judgment, but to help treatment teams strengthen their clinical management of patients and support decision-making processes during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Elsevier COVID-19 Toolkits for Healthcare Professionals Frequently updated front-line clinical tools and resources to help deliver excellent care and information to COVID-19 patients. Toolkits available for ICU, Inpatient Care, Mental & Behavioral Health, Physical Rehabilitation, Emergency Care, Ambulatory Care, and Community Care.

Joint Commission COVID-19 Resource Center The Joint Commission's website for all statements and guidance related to COVID-19 clinical care in the hospitals.

The Medical Letter - Treatments Considered for COVID-19 Updated frequently, this free resource from The Medical Letter lists pertinent evidence on the clinical effectiveness and safety of some drugs and other therapies being considered for COVID-19. Inclusion in this table is not a recommendation for use for treatment of COVID-19.

OSHA COVID-19 Guidance OSHA's website for all statements and guidance related to employees working during the COVID-19 pandemic.

AMA Code of Ethics: Withholding or Withdrawing Life-Sustaining Treatment The full-text of this section of the AMA Code of Ethics.

AACN End of Life Care Support for Nurses During COVID-19 From the AACN ELNEC (End of Life Care), the Support for Nurses During COVID-19 platform offers free education, advocacy, and support for nurses. Access free educational modules such as Self-Care Strategies to Deal with Moral Distress & Compassion Fatigue; Communication Skills Needed During the Pandemic; Care of Seriously Ill Patients & Their Families in the Last Days of Life; Dealing with Loss, Grief & Bereavement in a Pandemic; and Primary Palliative Care Amidst a Disaster. Also access free webinars regarding nursing care during the pandemic.

Center to Advance Palliative Care: COVID-19 Response Resources Access this extensive list of resources from the Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC), including communication scripts and conversation videos, symptom management protocols, resilience resources, and virtual office hours to chat with experts on the issues. CAPC is part of the nonprofit Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

The Conversation Project's Guide: Being Prepared in the Time of COVID-19 Download a brand new guide specific to COVID-19. With the generous support from the Cambia Health Foundation, The Conversation Project and Ariadne Labs teamed up to create this new tool to help people take action and be prepared. The guide is also available in Spanish.

Vital Talk's COVID Ready Communication Playbook Access a free copy of Vital Talk's crowdsourced playbook for clinicians to provide some practical advice on how to talk about some difficult topics related to COVID-19. Available in a multitude of languages.

ELNEC Communication Guide for Nurses and Others During COVID-19 Review this short guide from the AACN End of Life Nursing Education Consortium that provides thoughtful discussion of this issue and scripts for communicating with patients and their families.

ELNEC Final Hours Adapted for COVID-19 Crisis Nurses have a sacred opportunity to be at the bedside with patients who are dying and to support their grieving families at one of the most challenging times in our healthcare system’s history. The End of Life Nursing Education Consortium of the AACN offers this slidedeck to prepare nurses for their COVID-19 patients' final hours.

IHI's How to Talk to Your Patients about End-of-Life Care Toolkit (2019) : Lally KM, McCutcheon Adams K, Zambeaux A, Joshi C, Sokol-Hessner L. How to Talk to Your Patients about End-of-Life Care: A Conversation Ready Toolkit for Clinicians. Boston: Institute for Healthcare Improvement; 2019. (Available on ihi.org)

From IOM: Dying in America (2015) From the Institute of Medicine, Dying in America (2015) evaluates strategies to integrate care into a person- and family-centered, team-based framework, and makes recommendations to create a system that coordinates care and supports and respects the choices of patients and their families.