Search for eReference books in the Gale Virtual Reference Library:
Europa WorldThis link opens in a new windowEuropa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Art & Music
Oxford Art OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOffers access and simultaneous cross-searching to an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove® Art Online, the Benezit® Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford Music OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess to multiple music reference resources. Offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics.
Books, Serials, and Reviews
New York Review of BooksThis link opens in a new windowEssays and reviews of books and the arts, including music, theater, dance, and film.
Ulrich`sThis link opens in a new windowProvides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types and subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Britannica AcademicThis link opens in a new windowcombines the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new windowEnglish dictionary includes present-day meanings as well as the history of individual words and of the language, traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.
KnovelThis link opens in a new windowFor engineers and applied scientists, provides access to more than 3,600 leading reference works and databases from more than 90 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface, covering 28 subject areas.
CQ Press LibraryThis link opens in a new windowReference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes all of the individual CQ databases, listed separately.
Political Risk YearbookThis link opens in a new windowCountry Reports for 100 countries, which assess potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade. Provides risk forecasts and analysis based on the Coplin-O'Leary Rating System, the original political risk rating system, including alternative regime scenarios.
Science.govThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Law and Legal Reference
HeinOnlineThis link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Literature CriticismThis link opens in a new windowIncludes 10 Gale literature series, which in all comprise tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. Contemporary Literary Criticism profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
presents the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999. Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism presents overviews of four to eight authors of 1800 through 1899. Shakespeare Criticism includes general and specific critical interpretations from the 17th century to the present. Literature Criticism 1400-1800
includes resource on the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras. Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism provides critical opinion on early literature, Poetry Criticism is a collection of biographical sketches, author portraits, primary bibliographies and much more. Short Story Criticism profiles short story writers of yesterday and today. Drama Criticism
features critical opinions, biographical sketches and chronological lists of plays and playwrights. Children’s Literature Review provides critical reviews of the works of the most popular and influential authors of the genre.
Magill on Literature PlusThis link opens in a new windowIncludes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowReference eBooks on wide array of subjects.
OpenDOARThis link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Repositories. Maintained by the Centre for Research Communication in the UK. It also maintains a list of institutional repositories.
Polling the NationsThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
Salem Press Reference ShelfThis link opens in a new windowMultivolume reference works published by Salem Press. HUL's access includes works in the areas of literature, history, and health.
VaultThis link opens in a new windowVault is best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of top employers and hundreds of internship programs. Vault provides detailed information on nearly 5,000 companies in more than 120 industries. Vault also includes education requirements, skill requirements, salaries, advancement prospects, etc. for more than 840 professions, as well as employer, career, and interviewing guidebooks.
The above link provides a list of all the eReference titles in the catalog. If you want to search for specific keywords, subject, etc. within eReference, you can use the catalog's Advanced Search form and limit by the Axinn Reference (Online) location. Click here to access the catalog's advanced search page with this limiter already set for you and enter your relevant search terms in the form