Skip to Main Content

Elementary Education

This guide may be used to help you do research on topics in education, find children's literature and materials for lesson plans.

Great Websites for Kids


The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has added recommended Web sites to Great Web Sites for Kids (www.ala.org/greatsites), its online resource containing hundreds of links to outstanding Web sites for children.

Great Web Sites for Kids (GWS) features links to websites of interest to children 14 years of age and younger, organized into diverse subject headings, from astronomy and space to zoos and aquariums, from games and entertainment to geography and maps. There is also a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers and teachers.

Members of the ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids Committee review and evaluate potential sites for inclusion and vote on the sites to be included. They also regularly check the entire site to ensure currency and re-evaluate sites when necessary.

The newly added sites are:

Aaron Shepard’s Folktales - www.aaronshep.com/stories/folk.html
Academic Skill Builders - www.arcademicskillbuilders.com/
BAM! Body and Mind - www.bam.gov/
Book Worm for Kids - www.bookworm4kids.com/
Census in Schools - www.census.gov/schools/census_for_kids/
Chicos - www.chicos.net/
Cool Science for Kids - www.hhmi.org/coolscience/forkids/index.html
Dogo News - www.dogonews.com/
Enchanted Learning - www.littleexplorers.com/languages/spanish/Aisfor.shtml
Exploratorium Science of Gardening  - www.exploratorium.edu/gardening/feed/index.html
Games for Change - www.gamesforchange.org
Genna’s World - www.gennasworld.com
If I Was King of the World www.ifiwasthekingoftheworld.com/
Jefferson Lab - http://education.jlab.org/
Lab TV - www.ndep.us/LabTV.aspx
MakeBeliefsComix - www.makebeliefscomix.com/Comix/
Math Apprentice - www.mathapprentice.com/
Mr. PicassoHead - www.mrpicassohead.com
Nourish Interactive - www.nourishinteractive.com/
NSA www.nsa.gov/kids/
Pat Mora - www.patmora.com
Plimoth Plantation - www.plimoth.org/education/olc/index_js2.html#
Smarty Games - www.smartygames.com/
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne extension - http://urbanext.illinois.edu/kids/index.html
US Mint for Kids - www.usmint.gov/kids/
Wacky Web Tales - www.eduplace.com/tales/
You Are Here www.ftc.gov/youarehere/


Subject Guide

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University