LibGuides: PSC 132 European Politics: Area Studies

Area Studies

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Provides information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, as well as daily news coverage.
CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window Provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications information. Also profiles more than 38 non-UN intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Europa World This link opens in a new window Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
OECD Economic Surveys This link opens in a new window the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's periodic reviews of member and non-member economies.
Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window Country Reports for 100 countries, which assess potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade. Provides risk forecasts and analysis based on the Coplin-O'Leary Rating System, the original political risk rating system, including alternative regime scenarios.
UNData This link opens in a new window Pools major UN databases and those of several international into one single internet environment. The databases, tables and glossaries cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.